RECR 275 - Professional Practicum and Seminar: Home

Library information for RECR 275 - Professional Practicum and Seminar

Recommended Databases for Arguments

In the first four boxes below there are recommended databases for finding supporting articles for an argument.

Databases recommended for the argument "physical activity boosts brainpower"

Physical Activity Boosts Brainpower

Databases recommended for the argument "Nature is good for kids diagnosed with ADHD"

Nature is Good for Kids Diagnosed with ADHD

Recommended databases for the argument "Recreation Promotes Community Development"

Recreation Promotes Community Development

Recommended databases for the argument "Ecotourism Promotes Cultural Awareness"

Ecotourism Promotes Cultural Awareness

And more databases

Here are a few more databases that may have information relevant to your needs:

Ecotourism Journals

A sample of scholarly journals in the field of ecotourism.  Any topic will have many specialized journals like this.

Annals of Tourism Research

Annals of Leisure Research

Current Issues in Tourism

Human Dimensions of Wildlife (No Western subscription, Use ILL)

Journal of Sustainable Tourism

Journal of Ecotourism

World Leisure Journal

Career Opportunities

Databases recommended for information about companies and industries.  Background information for job searches and interviews. Foundation Directory and Foundation Grants have information about grants.

Tips

Practical things to know about using library resources.

  • Sign in for full access

Signing into OneSearch ensures that you have full access to articles, eBooks, and other scholarly materials. Once you authenticate through the sign-in process, you can expect increased (and sometimes, immediate) access to materials.

  • Use ILL

ILLiad is a system where you may request items not held by WWU or other Summit libraries. This includes articles and physical items, such as books. The first time you use ILLiad you will have to create an account. Please review the policies carefully. Articles will typically be delivered electronically and books and other items mailed to our library where you can pick them up. Due dates and the time it takes to fulfill ILLiad requests varies widely, depending on the loaning institutions policies and copyright issues. You will receive an email letting you know when your ILLiad request has been filled.

  • Journal Search

You can search our journal holdings by following the link to Journals under the OneSearch search box (see the Libraries homepage screenshot below). Conduct a search by entering a title or a keyword, then browse your results. Since you are here right now, this is a link to the journals search. If you need assistance, contact the Research & Writing Studio for help.

 

  • Ask Chat

This Chat feature allows patrons to access library professionals in mid-search for a consultation. This feature is present when there is a library professional on Chat. 

Step One

 

  • Google Scholar Library Settings

You can set your browser to have Google Scholar link to full text articles in Western databases from any computer you use. You will see either a "Findit! @ WWU" link at the bottom of the citation or a "Full Text @ WWU" option next to the title. If you are using Google Scholar from a campus computer it should automatically recognize you as a Western user.

To set up Google Scholar for off-campus access:

  1. Go to http://scholar.google.com/

  2. Click on the Settings link in the upper left hand corner drop-down menu.

  3. Click on "Library Links".

  4. Search for Western Washington University in the box that comes up.

  5. Tick (so a check mark appears in) the box next to Western Washington University Libraries - Findit!@Western Libraries.

Books