Communication Sciences & Disorders: Children's Literature

Locate databases, guides for particular courses, and general information for undergraduate and graduate programs in CSD.

CLIC is located in Wilson side of the library on 4-East

Children's and YA Literature

Western Washington Children's Literature Conference

Conference date: Saturday, February 24, 2018

Conference location:  WWU Performing Arts Center

www.wwuclc.com

Matt de la Peña
The Living (Pura Belpré Honor), Mexican Whiteboy (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), We Were Here (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), The Nation’s Hope: The Story of Boxing Legend Joe Lewis.

Kate DiCamillo
Flora & Ulysses (Newbery Medal), Because of Winn-Dixie (Newbery Honor), Tale of Despereaux (Newbery Medal), Mercy Watson series, Blink & Gollie series.

Yuyi Morales
Niño Wrestles the World (Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal), My Abuelita (Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor), Just In Case (Pura Belpré Narrative Medal and Illustrator Honor).

Joyce Sidman
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night (Newbery Honor), Ubiquitous: Celebrating Nature’s Survivors (NCTE Notable Book), What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms & Blessings.

- See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.5Pfg7N1k.dpuf

Matt de la Peña
The Living (Pura Belpré Honor), Mexican Whiteboy (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), We Were Here (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), The Nation’s Hope: The Story of Boxing Legend Joe Lewis.

Kate DiCamillo
Flora & Ulysses (Newbery Medal), Because of Winn-Dixie (Newbery Honor), Tale of Despereaux (Newbery Medal), Mercy Watson series, Blink & Gollie series.

Yuyi Morales
Niño Wrestles the World (Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal), My Abuelita (Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor), Just In Case (Pura Belpré Narrative Medal and Illustrator Honor).

Joyce Sidman
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night (Newbery Honor), Ubiquitous: Celebrating Nature’s Survivors (NCTE Notable Book), What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms & Blessings.

- See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.5Pfg7N1k.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf

Sophie Blackall - Finding Winnie, Baby Tree, A Voyage in the Clouds
Benjamin Aire Sãenz - Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, In Perfect Light
Pam Muñoz Ryan - Esperanza Rising, Echo, When Marian Sang
Kevin Henkes - Egg, Owen, Lily's Purple Plastic Purse, Olive's Ocean

Identifying Reading Levels for Specific Books

Scholastic provides a search feature on their Web site all the Scholastic Book Wizard: http://www.scholastic.com/bookwizard/

The database is searchable by:

Reading Level

Interest Level

DRA (Developmental Reading Assessment) - http://www.scholastic.com/resources/article/dra-reading-levels

Lexile Measure - http://lexile.com/about-lexile/lexile-overview/

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Search the library catalog and type in your topic keywords or Library of Congress (LC) subject terms.

General Terms: children with disabilities, people with disabiliities, speech disorders, speech therapy, hearing disorders

Specific Terms: deaf, deaf culture, cancer, psychosomatic speech disorders, cerebral palsy, autism, asperger's syndrome

Remember to LIMIT to Location: Children's Collection for children's literature

Bibliographic Resources
Go to the reference area of the Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection (CLIC) for bibliographic resources.

Librarian

Sylvia Tag's picture
Sylvia Tag
Contact:
The Western Libraries

Office: Wilson Library 272

Phone: 360.650.7992

Email: sylvia.tag@wwu.edu