* WHAT: This collection consists of curriculum guides from U.S. school districts for grade levels from Kindergarten through basic adult education. The collection is divided into 22 subject areas and provides comprehensive full-text access to curricula from around the nation.
* LOCATION: This microfiche collection with dedicated microfiche reader is located on Wilson 4 East.
* PRINTING: if you would like to make a print copy, there are microfiche printers on the 2nd floor of Wilson Library.
* FORMAT & SCOPE: Microfiche, 1978- onward.
* ONLINE: Curricula documents from the 20th edition (1996) to current are available online as PDFs and/or HTML files through the database KCDLonline
. Access by clicking on the link or via the Western Libraries homepage - search Articles & Databases
by title (KCDL). The full text of some
of the documents that were included in the 1983 through 19th editions is available through the database as well. However, most of the documents from older editions are only available on microfiche.
* ORGANIZATION: A three letter code indicates the subject area and is followed by number indicating grade level. Following the hyphen are is a three digit card number. IMPORTANT NOTE: Prior to the 15th edition, published in 1996, KCDL editions were numbered by the year preceding the year of publication. Thus, the edition of KCDL published in 1995 was titled KCDL 1994. The edition notation is helpful primarily for insuring you have the correct fiche.
- EXAMPLE: BUS 5-001
This example indicates curriculum for Business Education at the grade 5 level. 001 indicates that it is the first card for this subject and grade level.
* INDEX: The KCDL is indexed online
and in paper form. Paper indexes with the call number LB1570 .K725 and supplements are located on top of the KCDL microfiche filing cabinet on Wilson 4 East. Additionally, many titles from this collection appear as unique entries in the library's online catalog. The call numbers for these records include the Kraus ID numbers.
- EXAMPLE: LB1570 .K7 BUS 5-001.