Skip to main content

Northwest Native American and Tribal History: Research and Resources : Home

A brief guide to archival, primary sources and other resources about Northwest Native American and First Nations' history and culture, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.


This guide suggests useful resources for studying the history of Native American history and culture in the Pacific Northwest, with an emphasis on resources available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs. It is not exhaustive and many of the resources listed are local or regional in focus. Contact Western Libraries Research Desk or Heritage Resources' staff if you need assistance finding more information.

Related Research Guides

More Campus Connections

WWU offers a variety of courses in Native American studies. Check out the WWU Course Catalog for more information.  

Resources from the Western Libraries Catalog

This is a very brief list of titles frequently accessed by our researchers - many additional resources can be accessed via the Western Libraries Catalog. Please Ask Us if you need assistance. 


Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, please see the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Research Consultation Desk for assistance.  On campus access only for community users. The WWU community may access on or off campus.

Heritage Resources

Heritage Resources
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193

University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website / Blog Page

Heritage Resources


Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.