Skip to main content

Alaska: Research and Resources: Home

Brief guide highlighting archival and other resources available through Western Libraries Heritage Resources programs.

Useful Web Links


Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required for off campus searching, or access databases from within the library). In addition to the examples listed below, please see the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Research Desk for assistance.  


This guide suggests useful resources for studying the history of Alaska, focusing on resources available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs. It is not exhaustive  - contact Western Libraries Research Desk or Heritage Resources' staff if you need assistance finding more information.


Pavlof Mountains, Alaska. Galen Biery Photographs #152, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University.

From the Library Catalog

Try searching the Libraries Catalog, Summit Catalog or WorldCat for both published and archival sources. Ask an archivist or librarian if you need assistance. Useful subject search terms may include:

  • Alaska
  • Alaska -- History
  • Rossi˘ısko-Amerikanska︠i︡a Kompani︠i︡a -- History
  • Russka︠i︡a pravoslavna︠i︡a ︠t︡serkovʹ -- Alaska.
  • Russia -- Colonies -- America.
  • Haida Indians
  • Tlingit Indians
  • Tsimshian Indians

Or try narrowing down a topical term, for example:

  • Fur trade -- Alaska -- History
  • Indians of North America -- Alaska

Film Footage

Footage documenting the aftermath of the March 27, 1964 earthquake and tsunami, and the resulting destruction wrought on Kodiak City, on Kodiak Island, Alaska. The March 27, 1964 quake was then the largest earthquake recorded striking the United States.

KVOS Channel 12 Films, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University (Broadcast April 2, 1964).

Heritage Resources

Heritage Resources
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193

University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website / Blog Page

Heritage Resources


Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.