Civil Rights: Researching Issues, Student Movements and Campus Protest : Archival & Primary Resources At Western

An introduction to resources available locally, including through the Heritage Resources programs of Western Libraries

WWU Archives and Records Center

The University Archives is the sole, official repository for the records of WWU (see university policy POL-U4910.01) and houses more than 3000 linear feet of archival material documenting the history of Western from 1895 to the present.  This includes records in all formats (bound volumes, loose paper, photographic, audiovisual, digital) and from all major campus units including the Board of Trustees, President, Vice Presidents, Colleges, Academic Programs, Administrative/business units, and Associated Students—even Western Libraries.

Contact at: university.archives@wwu.edu
 (360 650 3124)

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies

Contact CPNWS at cpnws@wwu.edu or 360 650 7747 with any questions.

Special Collections

Resources at Western Libraries' Special Collections include the following important collections:

 

 

Other holdings of possible interest include:

KVOS Channel 12 Films

Footage dated May 18, 1967 (air-date) from the larger KVOS Channel 12 Film Collection at CPNWS.

Julian Bond (then 27 years of age and a prominent civil rights activist, anti-war spokesperson and elected State Senator in Georgia) is interviewed outside Old Main for local TV by Western's Political Science Professor and Chair Manfred Vernon and Duayne Trecker of KVOS. Bond shares his views on issues including the war in Vietnam, poverty, race relations and the civil rights movement.

Heritage Resources

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.

       

          Oral Histories

          Photographs