Questions to Consider...
What if I want to purchase an item already owned by Western Libraries?
If you want to purchase a copy of a text for your organization's personal use (rather than refer patrons to a copy held by Western Libraries), go for it!
This is a seminal work on this topic. Do other ROP organizations have a copy? Do we need another copy?
If you're concerned about duplicate texts among your collections (i.e., five copies of The Second Sex), consider talking with your colleagues before ordering the texts.
Who has jurisdiction over our collections?
While Western Libraries catalogues your collection, you are the authority on your collection. Therefore, you -- and your AS Group authorities -- make the decisions around access, time of access, housing, and more.
Do I need to lend library items to community members?
Associated Student Groups, and all resources affiliated with these groups (such as collections), are for student use only. You are not obligated to lend your texts or films to a non-Western community member or even to Western alumni. That said, each group can make the decision to lend out collection items but must do so at their own discretion.
What are some alternatives for lending to community members?
If you are uncomfortable with lending out books and films to non-Western community members but want to provide access to your collection, consider establishing a Reading Room. Usually found in Special Collections or archival settings, a Reading Room is a space where patrons can select a text, or several collection items, and browse through these items -- without checking them out.
Alternatively, you can also establish Visiting Hours, where patrons can go to the specific AS Office and look at the books
Diversity & Disability Services Librarian
Dennis Matthews