Skip to main content

Cold War History: Resources: Home

A brief guide to local resources on the Cold War, with emphasis on primary source collections available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.

Useful Search Terms

You may find it useful to search library and/or archival catalogs using some of the following subject search terms (you can also narrow results by adding a geographic location, e.g. Antinuclear movement--Washington (State)  OR Antinuclear movement--Washington (State)--Bellingham):

  • Antinuclear movement
  • Cold War
  • Communism
  • Nuclear warfare
  • Peace movements
  • United States--Foreign Relations
  • United States--Relations--Soviet Union
  • Soviet Union--Relations--United States
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1974
  • Washington (State).--Legislature.--Joint Legislative Fact-Finding Committee on Un-American Activities.

For resources about social protest and/or civil rights movements during the Cold War period, the following search terms may be useful:

  • Black power
  • Civil rights movements
  • College students
  • College students--Political activity
  • Conscientious Objectors
  • Feminism
  • Gay college students
  • New Left
  • Protest Movements
  • Race relations
  • Radicalism
  • Student movements
  • Student protesters
  • Women's rights

Ask a reference librarian or archivist if you need assistance.


This guide suggests useful resources for studying the history and impact of the Cold War, with an emphasis on primary and secondary sources available through Western Libraries and the Libraries' Heritage Resources collections. Please contact Western Libraries Research Desk or Heritage Resources' staff if you have questions and/or need assistance finding more information.

Searching Western Libraries' Catalog

Consult with your instructors about recommended readings and ask us if you need help finding a specific title or type of resource.
The following may be useful for background information & context: they provide access to primary source material of local & regional interest


Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). Follow this link to the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Research Desk for assistance.  

Heritage Resources

Heritage Resources
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193

University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website / Blog Page

Heritage Resources


Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.


          Related Library Guides