Reference Materials about Disability Studies
Encyclopedia of Disability by Call Number: HV1568 .E528 2006ISBN: 0761925651Publication Date: 2005-10-07The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, awarded Best Reference 2005 award from the Library Journal along with an Outstanding Award from the American Library Association's Booklist journal.
Handbook of Disability Studies by Call Number: HV1568.2 .H36 2001ISBN: 076192874XPublication Date: 2001-05-24This path-breaking Handbook of Disability Studies signals the emergence of a vital new area of scholarship, social policy and activism.
Reference books are an excellent way to get started with research, or to begin learning about a subject. Here are some reference works related to disability issues.
Handbook of Communication and People with Disabilities by Call Number: HV1569.4 .H35 2000ISBN: 0805830596Publication Date: 1999-12-01This Handbookrepresents the first comprehensive collection of research on communication and people with disabilities.
Disabilities by Call Number: HV1568 .D54 2009ISBN: 0313346046Publication Date: 2009-04-30This set is an unprecedented presentation of the experience, perception, and treatment of people with physical and psychological disabilities in nations around the globe.
Databases: Disability Studies
Disability studies is an interdisciplinary subject, drawing on topics such as sociology, medical issues, psychology, legislation, and much more. Therefore, searching many different databases will give you a better idea of what is available. Here are some of those databases.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
- Anthropology Plus [EBSCO]An index of citations to international publications in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, material culture, folklore and interdisciplinary studies.
- ComDisDome [ProQuest]A database of communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- CQ Researcher [CQ Press / Sage]A resource for in-depth coverage of political and social issues, written by experienced journalists.
- ERIC [EBSCO]The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
- PsycINFO [EBSCO]A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip:This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters. - PubMed [National Center for Biotechnology Information]A database of more than 26 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-texts are available.
- Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]An international database of book review citations and journal article and dissertation abstracts in the field of sociology as well as related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Diversity & Disability Services Librarian
Gabe Gossett
he / him
Contact:
Office: Haggard Hall 223
Phone: 360.441.4741 (text message ok)
Skype Contact: gossetj2@wwu.edu