Civil Rights: Researching Issues, Student Movements and Campus Protest : Home

An introduction to resources available locally, including through the Heritage Resources programs of Western Libraries

Introduction

This guide suggests useful resources for studying civil rights issues and the history, and impact of student movements and campus protest. It focuses in particular on resources available through Western Libraries' division of Heritage Resources (the archival and special collections on campus). Please contact Heritage Resources or the Hacherl Research & Writing Studio if you have questions or need assistance finding more information.

Related Library Guides

Databases

Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). Click here to access the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or contact staff in Heritage Resources or the Hacherl Research & Writing Studio for assistance.  

Searching Western Libraries' Catalog

You may find it useful to search the catalog (Onesearch) using some of the following subject search terms (you can also narrow results by adding a geographic location, e.g. Student movements--Washington (State)  OR Student movements--Washington (State)--Bellingham):

  • Antinuclear movement
  • Black power
  • Civil rights movements
  • College students
  • College students--Political activity
  • Conscientious Objectors
  • Feminism
  • Gay college students
  • New Left
  • Peace movements
  • Protest Movements
  • Race relations
  • Radicalism
  • Student movements
  • Student protesters
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1974
  • Women's rights

Consult with your instructors about recommended readings and ask us if you need help finding a specific title or type of resource. Here are some select titles relevant to local campus history: 

Miscellaneous Items

Campus History Vertical Files

Special Collections houses a substantial set of vertical files on various topics related to Campus History. An online guide to the collection, including a detailed list of folders (alphabetical by subject), is available here: http://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv965239/.

There are two folders specifically related to "student protests," ‚Äčand there are also files for each of the presidents which may include information about student movements during their administration.

Viet Cong Flag

Special Collections houses the flag that was made and showcased in front of the Viking Union Building in March 1969, along with an accompanying folder of information describing the incident and the Administration's response.

 

Heritage Resources

Heritage Resources's picture
Heritage Resources
Contact:
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193



University Archives and Records Management, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124



Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website

Heritage Resources

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.

       

          Campus Connections