Community College Group Visit Guidelines
This is the "Home" page of the "Information and Services for Community Members" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information and Services for Community Members  

Library information, services and resources targeted for the wider area community
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/community Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Whatcom One Card

The One Card program allows anyone who lives or goes to school in Whatcom County to check out library materials from any public or academic library in the county, and to return items to any participating library in Whatcom County. For details and information about requirements, click on the link below:

About Western Libraries

Welcome to Western Libraries!

Library facilities and events are open to all members of our community.

The main library complex consists of the Mabel Zoe Wilson Library and the Haggard Wing. The Western Libraries also include:

  • Western Libraries Home
    Western Libraries' online gateway to resources, collections and services.
  • Heritage Resources
    Heritage Resources consist of the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center.
  • Music Library
    Located on the second floor of the Performing Arts Center (PAC376). Our growing collection of music contains more than 80,000 items, including books, bound periodicals, musical scores, records and compact discs. Listening stations are located throughout the library.
  • Map Collection
    Western Libraries has more than 150,000 maps in Wilson 1 West.
 

Use of Library Resources

Visitors from the wider community are welcome to use the library resources:

    • Use of public-access library computers - Access the library catalog, electronic databases and other library resources, as well as the World Wide Web and web-based email. Please request a password to use our public workstations at the Circulation Services Desk on Haggard 2. Picture ID is required. Usage is limited to 1 hour per day, renewal subject to availability.
    • In-library use of most materials - Includes books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, audio/visual recordings, and periodical indexes and databases. For more information, see Borrowing Materials: Courtesy/Community Borrowers or contact Circulation Services at (360) 650-3084.

    • Fee-based printing and photocopying - Use your Western Libraries Courtesy/Community Card as a copy card. Add money to your card at machines in the library to pay for printing from library computers and to make photocopies. Coin operated copy machines are also available. Cost for photocopying is $.06/page. If you are not eligible or do not want a Courtesy/Community Card, you can purchase a copy card at the library. The card costs $1.00 and you will need to add money to the card to make copies.
    • Whatcom One Card - The One Card program allows anyone who lives or goes to school in Whatcom County to check out library materials from any public or academic library in the county, and to return items to any participating library in Whatcom County. For more information, click on the link above or go to the Whatcom One Card guide.
    • Library Guides: Available online through the library web site, these guides describe services and collections, provide assistance in locating and using library resources, and include our extensive collection of subject research guides and bibliographies.
    • Assistance at service desks - Go to the Info Desk on Wilson 2 for research and technology assistance, and to the Circulation Services Desk on Haggard 2 for library account help.

    Please note that visitors do not have access to the WWU computer labs or interlibrary loan service.

    Contact Us

    • Library Outreach
    • Circulation Services
      Email Circulation Services at Lib.CircReserves@wwu.edu or call (360) 650-3084 for information about the Whatcom One Card program and other borrowing information.

    Ask Us! Research Services

    Ask Us! Research Service - Anything, Anytime, Anywhere!

    Library help is available for all your information and research needs. Just click on the link below to contact us in any of the following ways:

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip