This is the "Article Databases" page of the "Databases for Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases for Biology  

Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2011 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/biology_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Core Databases

  • Biological Sciences  
      
    This database indexes a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science, providing access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Includes ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Sciences; Biology Digest; Conference Papers Index; MEDLINE; Oceanic Abstracts; and Plant Science.
  • EBSCO multiple database search  
      
    EBSCO (All Databases) is a combination of Academic Search Complete (a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 10,000 journals, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals) and Business Source Complete (a full-text index to journals in business, management, marketing, etc.).
  • Plant Science  
      
    Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Site License.
  • Science Citation Index (Web of Science)  
      
    Available via the Web of Science. A multidisciplinary citation index to the literature of science, technology, biomedicine, and related disciplines. Features include citation indexing, related records, and shared references.

More

  • AccessScience  
      
    AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.
  • Agricola (National Agricultural Catalog)  
      
    Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    Annual Review articles covering topics within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
  • HighWire Press  
      
    Stanford University's HighWire Press provides access to archives of full-text articles from a selected number of peer reviewed journals primarily in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
      
    Oceanic Abstracts indexes and abstracts technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment; marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics worldwide.
  • Plant Science  
      
    Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Site License.
  • PubMed  
      
    Accesses the MEDLINE database of the National Library of Medicine, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Contains citations and abstracts for articles in about 3,900 current biomedical journals published in the U. S. and 70 foreign countries.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  
      
    The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. CDC′s top organizational components include the Office of the Director, six Coordinating Centers and Offices, and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

Librarian for Biology

Profile Image
Peter Smith

Related Guides

Botanical Illustration Resources
by Julene Sodt - Last Updated Aug 5, 2014
A Selected Bibliography created for the 1999 Northwest Botanical Illustration Symposium (updated frequently) Compiled by Julene Sodt, of the Western Libraries, Western Washington University, Bellingham WA
1,333 views this year
Ethnobotany Resources
by Julene Sodt - Last Updated Oct 16, 2014
81 views this year
Literature Reviews
by Julene Sodt - Last Updated Jul 3, 2013
How to locate literature reviews.
160 views this year
Native Plants and Fungi of the Pacific Northwest
by Julene Sodt - Last Updated Aug 19, 2014
Northwest native plant resources available from the Western Libraries collection and the Web, including identification manuals and field guides.
1,065 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip