This is the "Article Databases" page of the "Databases for History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases for History  

Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/history_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Core Databases

  • America: History and Life  
      
    A database indexing scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. The scope includes citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, as well as book and media reviews.
  • American Decades  
      
    American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
  • Cambridge Histories Online  
      
    Searchable and browsable full text access to the Cambridge Histories series. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Historical Abstracts includes citations and abstracts of books, journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Political, diplomatic, economic, religious, social, cultural, and intellectual history, as well as the history of science, technology, and medicine are represented.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective  
      
    Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Coverage is currently 1890-1982.
  • CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index)  
      
    Contains full-text or abstracts from more than 400 Canadian and international publications, and the full-text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail newspaper.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)  
      
    Indexes US-Hispanic and Latin American topics from more than 100 scholarly journals worldwide.
  • HeinOnline  
      
    HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of the complete historical run of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals. Other sources covered in full-text include published and unpublished treaties; The Federal Register (1936-present), U.S. Supreme Court Reports, and U.S. Attorney General Opinions. The U.S. Code of Federal Regulations CFR)is available full-text from inception in 1938 through the 1983 edition.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals  
      
    IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. Most IIBP Full Text records in the current coverage contain an abstract, and additionally many IIBP Full Text records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary.
  • New York Times Index Online  
      
    The New York Times archives are searchable from this general access index on the NYT homepage. The pull down menu divides the search from 1980 to the current and 1851-1980. An advanced search menu is offered which allows you to search by author, in headlines, and by specific date or date range.
  • ProQuest Newstand  
      
    A selection of full text newspapers international, national and local.
  • Newspaper Source Plus  
      
    Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam Online  
      
    The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online represents a milestone in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, bringing scholars and researchers around the world instant desktop access to over 15,000 articles. The online edition offers access to: - volumes I-XII of the New Edition (published 1955-2005). - all new material from the Third Edition (2007- ) as it becomes available.
  • HistoryLink.org  
      
    HistoryLink.org is an evolving online encyclopedia of Washington state and local history. It provides a free, authoritative, and easily accessible history reference for the benefit of students, teachers, journalists, scholars, researchers, and the general public. With a few noted exceptions, all essays and features on this site are original works prepared exclusively for HistoryLink.org by staff historians, contract writers, volunteers, and consulting experts. All essays and features are vetted by professional staff.

More

  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1  
      
    American Broadsides is a searchable full text database of 30,000 posters, proclamations, menus, advertisements, invitations, fliers, stock certificates, clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, and theater and music programs that document political and cultural events, both private and civic from 1760-1900. Some of the documents are available in color. This database was created from the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.
  • ARTstor  
      
    ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
  • Cambridge Histories Online  
      
    Searchable and browsable full text access to the Cambridge Histories series. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
  • Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876  
      
    Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia.
  • Medieval Sourceonline  
      
    Medieval Sourcesonline contains hundreds of original medieval history documents.

Librarian for History

Profile Image
Margaret Fast
Contact Info
HH223
360-650-3174
margaret.fast@wwu.edu
Send Email

Related Guides

Access and Use of Aerial Photographs
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Apr 18, 2014
Information about aerial images available at WWU's Center for Pacific Northwest Studies and elsewhere.
83 views this year
Accessing Heritage Resources and Archival Collections
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
This guide will provide links to web tutorials and other information about access and use of primary source collections.
22 views this year
Archival Resources on Women's History
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
An introduction to resources available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
50 views this year
Census Population Schedules
by Rob Lopresti - Last Updated Jan 6, 2014
The Census Population Schedules contain the information about individuals collected by the Census, and are released 72 years later.
8 views this year
Class visits to Heritage Resources
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Information for instructors about organizing class visits to Heritage Resources.
34 views this year
Databases for Biography
by Margaret Fast, Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
136 views this year
Databases for History
by Margaret Fast, Martha Mautino - Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
706 views this year
Databases for Newspapers
by Margaret Fast, Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Oct 11, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
130 views this year
ENVS 305: Environmental History and Ethics, Library Resources
by Rob Lopresti - Last Updated Jan 6, 2014
13 views this year
ENVS 481: History of Conservation in America
by Rob Lopresti - Last Updated Jan 6, 2014
0 views this year
FIG 5: Minority Report - Library Resources
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Oct 19, 2010
First-year Interest Group (FIG): Cluster 5: Minority Report
1 views this year
Genealogical Sources in Government Information
by Rob Lopresti - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
Western's half million government publications includes some material useful to genealogical researchers.
0 views this year
Group Research Visit Guidelines - Grades K-12
by Martha Mautino - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
Information about arranging and preparing for group research visits to Western Libraries for area schools.
13 views this year
Historical Resources About World War I and World War II
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 21, 2012
A brief list of historical resources about local and regional experience during WWI and WWII, with an emphasis on materials available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
37 views this year
Historical Resources on the WWU Physical and Built Environment
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Nov 20, 2013
Records and resources documenting the history of property, structures, and places owned or managed by Western Washington University.
68 views this year
Historical Resources re: the Great Depression
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Select resources re: the Great Depression of the 1930s available at Western Libraries Heritage Resources and beyond.
89 views this year
History 103: American History to 1865
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
This is a course guide for History 103.
28 views this year
History 104: Introduction to American History Since 1865
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
Resources for History 104
26 views this year
History 417G: Medieval Islamic Social History
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
The guide offers suggestions for research in Medieval Islamic social history.
15 views this year
History 499: Chinese History
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Resources for Chinese History
131 views this year
History 530: Arrangement and Description of Archives
by Ruth Steele - Last Updated Jan 7, 2014
Resources for students in History 530, a seminar offered as part of Western Washington University's graduate program in Archives and Records Management.
123 views this year
History Day Resources at Western Libraries
by Martha Mautino - Last Updated Sep 11, 2013
Information about researching your History Day topics at Western Libraries
6 views this year
Indian Treaties: Information at Western Libraries
by Rob Lopresti - Last Updated Jan 6, 2014
11 views this year
Japanese American Internment and Relocation
by Margaret Fast - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
This subject research guide contains: Library Resources and Databases, Biographies, Books on Camp Life, Film and Photographs, and Legal Aspects of the Internment, Newspapers, Personnel Narratives, and Websites on Japanese American Internment during WWII.
136 views this year
Microform Collections
by Martha Mautino - Last Updated Apr 22, 2014
Information about selected microform collections at Western Libraries.
204 views this year
Newspapers
by Paul Piper - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
Guide to current and historical national and international newspapers in print, online, and microform collections at Western Libraries.
220 views this year
Research and Resources on Alaska
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Brief guide highlighting archival and other resources available through Western Libraries Heritage Resources programs.
9 views this year
Research and Resources On Fish and Fishing
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about the history of fish and fishing, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
39 views this year
Research and Resources on Northwest Native American and Tribal History
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Sep 9, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about Northwest Native American and First Nations' history and culture, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
101 views this year
Research in Cryptozoology
by Gabe Gossett - Last Updated Jan 7, 2014
Short introduction to library and web resources relating to cryptozoology.
399 views this year
Research Using Oral Histories
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Resources available through Western Libraries and its Heritage Resources programs.
34 views this year
Researching Civil Rights Issues, Student Movements and Campus Protest
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Oct 22, 2013
An introduction to resources available locally, including through the Heritage Resources programs of Western Libraries
42 views this year
Researching LGBTQ H(i/er)story
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Oct 2, 2013
Select resources available through Western Libraries and online.
37 views this year
Researching Property and Building History
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Resources for researching the history of property and buildings in and around Whatcom County, Washington.
27 views this year
Researching the History of Railroads, Vessels and Other Transportation Methods
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
A guide to resources about the history of trains, railroads, ships, boats, aviation and transit systems, focusing on collections available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
18 views this year
Resources about World's Fairs and Expositions
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
A brief guide to resources about World's Fairs as available through Western Libraries and its Heritage Resources programs.
17 views this year
Resources for Researching Local and Regional History
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Jan 24, 2014
An introductory list of primary source repositories, heritage organizations and other useful resources.
129 views this year
Resources on Cold War History
by Heritage Resources - Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
A brief guide to local resources on the Cold War, with emphasis on primary source collections available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
30 views this year

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip