Core Databases
- PsycINFO PsycINFO indexes and provides nonevaluative abstracts for scholarly, international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Materials covered include articles from more than 1,300 journals, reports of surveys, bibliographies, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Dates covered: 1840 – present.
- PsycARTICLES PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied publishing groups. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present including over 150,000 articles from over 70 journals.
- Web of Science The Web of Sciences includes three citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Over 8,000 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals published from 1970 to the present are included in the indexing. Building on the list of cited sources (or footnotes) for each entry, this database can search for works that have cited a specific author or a specific article.
- PubMed Accesses the MEDLINE database of the National Library of Medicine, covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Contains citations and abstracts for articles in about 3,900 current biomedical journals published in the U. S. and 70 foreign countries.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook /Tests in Print Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive directory to commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
- Annual Reviews Annual Review articles covering topics within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
More
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK), providing international indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works from the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, material culture, folklore and interdisciplinary studies.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Counseling and Therapy in Video provides streaming video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Users can browse by subject, therapist, therapy type, theme and video type.
- DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders classifies and provides criteria for the classification and diagnoses of mental disorders. The electronic subscription includes access to past editions of the DSM and a number of other ebooks.
- ERIC (ProQuest) ERIC is the largest education database in the world providing indexing and abstracts of all types of materials including journal articles, government documents, books, dissertations, and unpublished materials such as curriculum guides, research reports and conference papers in education and related topics in the social sciences. Many ERIC documents published between 1993 and 2004 are now available online full text.
- HighWire Press Stanford University's HighWire Press provides access to archives of full-text articles from a selected number of peer reviewed journals primarily in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Sociological Abstracts indexes literature in sociology and related disciplines. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
Librarian for Psychology
Links: Profile & Guides |
Related Guides
Databases for Psychology
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
2,505 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
2,505 views this year
FIG #3 Frames of Mind
- Last Updated Oct 20, 2011
Library guide for the FIG cluster that includes Anthropology 201 (Introduction to Cultural Anthropology), Psychology 101 (Introduction to Psychology), and Seminar 101 (Perspectives on Learning).
7 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 20, 2011
Library guide for the FIG cluster that includes Anthropology 201 (Introduction to Cultural Anthropology), Psychology 101 (Introduction to Psychology), and Seminar 101 (Perspectives on Learning).
7 views this year
FIG #7: Psyches: Real & Virtual, Fall 2011
- Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
Information resources for Psychology and Computer Science
2 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
Information resources for Psychology and Computer Science
2 views this year
Locating Tests and Measures
- Last Updated Jul 16, 2012
How to locate specific tests, measurements, and scales used in research or professional practice and information about those tools.
73 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 16, 2012
How to locate specific tests, measurements, and scales used in research or professional practice and information about those tools.
73 views this year
Microform Collections
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Information about selected microform collections at Western Libraries.
285 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Information about selected microform collections at Western Libraries.
285 views this year
Psychology 301: Overview of Research Methods
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
How to conduct research for Psychology 301 assignments
481 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
How to conduct research for Psychology 301 assignments
481 views this year
Psychology Resources
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
This guide is a selective list of resources in the field of psychology, arranged by type of resource, i.e. journals, reference works, web sites.
66 views this year
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
This guide is a selective list of resources in the field of psychology, arranged by type of resource, i.e. journals, reference works, web sites.
66 views this year


Loading...
