This is the "Article Databases" page of the "Databases for Creative Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases for Creative Writing  

Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
Last Updated: Jan 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/creative_writing_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Core Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  
      
    Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography via EBSCO  
      
    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database covers literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, journalism, communications, film, media, and theater and indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and bibliographies from 1926 to the current year.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

More

  • Contemporary Authors  
      
    Contemporary Authors is a comprehensive source of biographical information on over 100,000 modern novelists, playwrights, poets, scriptwriters, non-fiction writers and journalists.
  • Middle English Compendium  
      
    The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    The Oxford English Dictionary (2nd edition)is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
  • Ulrichsweb  
      
    A comprehensive source for information about serial publications, including magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, electronic publications, and more. Among the many features of ulrichsweb.com is the ability to search for serials by subjects of interest.
  • Web of Science  
      
    The Web of Sciences includes three citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Over 8,000 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals published from 1970 to the present are included in the indexing. Building on the list of cited sources (or footnotes) for each entry, this database can search for works that have cited a specific author or a specific article.

Librarian for Creative Writing

 

Profile Image
Paul Piper
Contact Info
To call (650-3097), e-mail (paul.piper@wwu.edu) or stop by
Wilson Library 276
Send Email

Related Guides

Databases for Biography
by Margaret Fast, Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
187 views this year
Databases for Children's Literature
by Martha Mautino, Sylvia Tag - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
76 views this year
Databases for Creative Writing
by Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
95 views this year
Databases for Literature, American
by Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
135 views this year
Databases for Literatures in English, World
by Martha Mautino, Paul Piper - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
118 views this year
ENG 201: Wrt in Humanit:Food (Re)Search
by Elizabeth Stephan - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
Course guide for ENG 201
9 views this year
ENG 310 19/20th Cent. Canada/Maps & Empire
by Peter Smith - Last Updated Apr 20, 2014
Analysis, interpretation and discussion of texts in English or in translation from the 19th- and 20th-century cultures.
6 views this year
English 464: Recycled Cinema
by Paul Piper - Last Updated Oct 8, 2013
This is a LibGuide for the class English 464, Recycled Cinema taught by Kaveh Askari.
13 views this year
Film Resources
by Julene Sodt - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
A guide to film resources available from and through the Western Libraries
65 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip