Del.icio.us Links
Search Terms
These are not the only search terms to use, these are suggested phrases to start with. Use the tools available in the databses to help you narrow and filter your search.
Example: Doing business in China
Example Search Terms:
- Doing business [and] China
- Business communication [and] China
- Interpersonal relations [and] China
- Corporate culture [and] China
- China -- Social Life & Customs
- Communication & Culture [and] China
- Organizational behavior [and] China
These may seem similar, they will all return slightly different results. These terms can be used in the databases listed below and the library catalog. Remember, each database may use different search phrases and terms because they focus on different topics.
Business Communication
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) EBSCO Business Source Complete provides full text articles and abstracts from a large selection of scholarly business journals. Topics cover every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
- PsycINFO PsychINFO includes articles about organizational behavior and business communication. Most of the items in PsychINFO are not full text, but you can link to articles available in other databases and in print in the library.
- PsycARTICLES Like PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES provides articles on organizational behavior and business communication, unlike PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES is full text. The difference is that it only includes articles from 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and its publishing groups.
Country and Business Culture
- The Essential Guide to Business Etiquette (Book, 2-hour reserve)This book is on reserve and can be checked out for a two-hour period. Located behind Circulation desk on the second floor of Haggard Hall.
- Global Business Etiquette : A Guide to International Communication and Customs (Book, 2-hour reserve)This book is on reserve and can be checked out for a two-hour period. Located behind Circulation desk on the second floor of Haggard Hall.
- Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands (Reference book)Covers business customs and culture for 60 countries. This is a great resource for general business etiquette, but use it as a starting point.
- Working Across Cultures (Reference book)
- Passport to Success : The Essential Guide to Business Culture and Customs in America's Largest Trading Partners (Book, 2-hour reserve)This book is on reserve and can be checked out for a two-hour period. Located behind Circulation desk on the second floor of Haggard Hall.
- Country Reports in Business Source CompleteAn index of countries covered by reports in Business Source Complete. Search for your country to find out what types of reports are available. Most of these reports focus on business and economics, but some will cover communication and social issues.
- CultureGrams (Reference book)Includes customs, geography, history, culture, people and lifestyles of people in 177 countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Each country is covered with a four-page summary.
- Background NotesCreated by the US State Department, Background Notes are a comprehensive look at a country, from culture to history to politics
- Portals to the World (Library of Congress)Includes links to websites covering regions and nations. Topics covered for each nation include: general information, business, culture, education, geography, government, health, history, media, religion, and society.
- Global EdgeGlobal Edge provides extensive information on countries and regions, including country information, industry, and trade.
- World FactbookThe CIA World Factbook provides a country summaries that include demographics, location, telecommunications capacity, government, industry, military capability, and more.
Keyword Catalog Search
We have numerous books relating to doing business in different countries and intercultural communiction. Some of these searches will find the same items, but each search is slightly different.
Some search tips:
- Keyword search: "doing business in [country name]" (without quotes). This will search the entire catalog record for these words and will find variations on this title.
- Keyword search: "cross-cultural communications" (without quotes). This will find some general books and resources on intercultural communications.
- Keyword search: "intercultural communications [country name]" (without quotes). This will find some books and resources on intercultural communications and your country.
- Keyword search: "business communication [country name]" (without quotes). This will find some books and resources on business communications and your country.
Librarian |



Loading...
