This is the "Home" page of the "LBRL 110: Confession and Self-Promotion - Autobiography from Augustine to the Blogosphere" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LBRL 110: Confession and Self-Promotion - Autobiography from Augustine to the Blogosphere  

This is a guide for Liberal Studies 110.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2010 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/lbrl110 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Materials

The following research materials on autobiography are in the WWU Libraries:


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography
Call Number: HQ1185 .E63 2005
Two-volume set.

Cover Art
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Literature: A Genre Guide
Call Number: PS153.G38 2008
Check Chapter 16, "Life Stories: Biography, Autobiography, and Memoirs."


 

Series/Collections

In the library catalog use the advanced keyword search to find topics in collections or series:

Example:  "early english books" and "trials"

Example:  "other voice in early modern europe" and "women"

Example:  "i tatti renaissance library" and "art"

Finding Books

First check to see if what you need is in Western's Online Catalog. 

If it is not in the catalog duplicate your search in Summit by clicking on "Repeat the Search in Summit" at the top of the page in Western's Catalog.  The Summit materials you order will come in from Washington and Oregon Libraries and will be available for pickup at the Circulation Desk.

Summit also contains WorldCat from which you can order materials from outside the region using your ILLiad account.

Set up your ILLiad account once and it is your interlibrary loan account for your academic career at Western.

 

Search Terms and Subjects

Use the following terms to find historical documents. In a subject search these terms -- personal narrative, correspondence, diaries, early works to 1800, interviews, pamphlets, and blogs -- can be added to a person's name or a subject:

Subject Search: Jesus, Ursula de, 1604-1666 -- Diaries

Subject Search: Insurgency -- Iraq -- Blogs

Useful keywords include memoirs, letters, travel diaries, journals, autobiography, papers, portraits, autoethnography, and social networking.

Keyword Search: Heloise and letters

Digital storytelling and speeches can be searched as subjects or used in specifc keyword searches.

Keyword Search: Lincoln and speeches

Databases

  • ARTstor  
      
    ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
  • ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association)  
      
    Atla is an index to religious and theological literature, containing thousands of citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three print indexes: Religion Index One, Religion Index Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)  
      
    Available via general access through The Getty. Covers the years 1975-2007. The Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules for BHA and RILA, and they can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
  • Cambridge Histories Online  
      
    Searchable and browsable full text access to the Cambridge Histories series. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Historical Abstracts includes citations and abstracts of books, journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Political, diplomatic, economic, religious, social, cultural, and intellectual history, as well as the history of science, technology, and medicine are represented.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    Includes full-text of Grove Art Online with linked images, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    The Oxford English Dictionary (2nd edition)is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Margaret Fast
Contact Info
HH223
360-650-3174
margaret.fast@wwu.edu
Send Email

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles and books. You can see what item are in Western Libraries be setting Scholar Preference Library Links to Western Washington University.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip