This is the "Home" page of the "ECON 303: History of Economic Thought" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ECON 303: History of Economic Thought   Tags: business, economics  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/econ303 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles and books. You can see what item are in Western Libraries by setting Scholar Preference Library Links to Western Washington University.



Economics Resources

  • EconLit  
      
    EconLit contains citations, with abstracts, of articles from over 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and dissertations are included. Corresponding print sources are the Journal of Economic Literature, Index of Economic Articles, and the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO)  
      
    Business Source Complete contains articles from Scholarly, popular, and trade journals in addition to company reports (public & private), industry reports, and country reports. Includes numerous economic journals. Use together with EconLit.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR has full-text full-text articles from scholarly journals from approx 2005 and earlier.
  • Web of Science  
      
    The Web of Sciences includes three citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Search Social Science Citation Index for economics-related citations.
  • Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
  • RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
    RePEc is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available.RePEC contains information that is available in print. See their website for more info on submitting papers.
  • National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)  
      
    National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers publish their initial findings at the NBER as working papers.
 

How to Search EconLit and Business Source Complete

This short video (less than 5 min.) demonstrates how to search EconLit and Business Source Complete at the same time. 

Video will open in a separate window. 

 

Type of Articles & Journals

You will often be asked to search for academic or scholarly articles and journals. What does that mean? How are they different from other articles and journals?

Academic Journals and Articles

  • An academic article is created by academics for academics.
  • The research and information is considered to be trustworthy and well-researched.
  • Academic journals often have the word "journal" in the title, like Journal of Business Communication.
  • Academic articles are long. A short academic or scholarly article is five pages long; most are 15 to 20 pages long.
  • Academic journals rarely feature color picutres; most will feature charts and graphs, but not pictures.
  • Authors often have an affiliation with a university or research institute.

 

General-interest Magazines

  • General-interest magazines include titles like Time, Newsweek, Forbes, and Rolling Stone.
  • Articles are often shorter and written for a general audience.
  • Articles feature color images and the magaiznes are slick and glossy.
  • Don't dismiss an article in a general-interest magazine, but be aware of who it is written for and where it is coming from.

 

Librarian

Profile Image
Elizabeth Stephan
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Library WL274
360-650-2061 (phone)
360-389-2655 (SMS/text)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip