Select resources available through Western Libraries and online.
This guide suggests useful resources for studying lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer h(i/er)story and culture, with an emphasis on materials available through Western Libraries and/or online. It is not exhaustive and many of the resources listed are local or regional in focus. Contact Western Libraries Research Desk or Heritage Resources' staff if you need assistance finding more information.
- Diversity at Western Libraries
Online guide containing an array of Diversity-related resources, including a brief video on transgender resources and services at Western Libraries.
- Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies: Feminist Theory
...feminist theory courses including women studies 212 course on feminist theory
- LGBTQ Resources @ Western
This guide provides access to both scholarly and practical resources on WWU's Campus for the LGBTQ populations.
- Boston University Research Guide: Gay and Lesbian Studies
Annotated bibliography containing references to published works and links to databases, organizations and other resources re: gay and lesbian issues. Many of the resources listed here are available through Western Libraries. Includes bibliographies and links to resources on specific topics, e.g. military service, same-sex marriage. N.B.
- Gay History and Literature
Essays on gay history and literature by Rictor Norton, with book synopses and bibliography.
- New York Public Library - Gay and Lesbian Studies Research Guide
Expansive list of works regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies.
Additional resources are available to WWU students through the Associated Students' Queer Resource Center.
WWU offers a variety of courses and an interdisciplinary minor program in Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender (GLBT) studies. Check out the WWU Course Catalog for more information.
Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources
Call Number: Available at Western Library Reference HQ21.G359 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Sex -- Social aspects -- History -- Sources; Sex role -- History -- Sources; Sexual orientation -- History -- Sources; Gender identity -- History -- Sources; Sex customs -- History -- Sources
Publication Date: 1977 - current
Available at Non-Library Collections AS Sexual Awareness Center (Viking Union 518) HQ1101 .L3
Alternative newspaper published in Bellingham and later, Seattle, Washington, circa 1969-1986. Additional copies available at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies.
Same-sex affairs: constructing and controlling homosexuality in the Pacific Northwest
Call Number: Available at Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection HQ76.2.N67 B63 2003
At the turn of the twentieth century, two distinct, yet at times overlapping, male same-sex sexual subcultures had emerged in the Pacific Northwest: one among the men and boys who toiled in the region's logging, fishing, mining, farming, and railroad-building industries the other among the young urban white-collar workers of the emerging corporate order. Boag draws on police logs, court records, and newspaper accounts to create a vivid picture of the lives of these men and youths--their sexual practices, cultural networks, cross-class relations, variations in rural and urban experiences, and ethnic and racial influences.
Student newspaper and a rich source of information re: campus history.
Issues of a bi-weekly women's newsletter, published by the Associated Students' Women's Center at Western Washington State College (1976). Continued by "Women's Page."
Women's Newsletter [microform].
Place of publication varies: LIBRARY HAS: Aug.16, 1971-June 23, 1973. Pub. Info: Berkeley, Calif. : Free University Women's Center, 1971-
Pub. Info.: Bellingham, WA : Women's Center, Associated Students, Western Washington State College, [1976-1977]. Continued by "Labyrinth."
Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, please see the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Reference Desk for assistance.
- Databases for Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
- Databases re: Science, Medicine, Psychology (and other related fields)
Library Guide to article and research databases for fields including psychology, sociology, education, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology.
- America: History and Life
A database indexing scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. The scope includes citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, as well as book and media reviews.
- EBSCO multiple database search
EBSCO (All Databases) is a combination of Academic Search Complete (a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 10,000 journals, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals) and Business Source Complete (a full-text index to journals in business, management, marketing, etc.).
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193
University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124
Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534Send Email
Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.