Library Guides: Women's History: Other Useful Resources

Related Guides and Websites

Databases on Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Databases require WWU log-in.

GenderWatch [ProQuest]
GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

National Archives - Research by Topic
Selected online documents, links, and articles supporting research re: women's history.
Women's History Month
Online exhibits, images, audio-visual and educational materials provided by the Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Women's History Research in Archives
Library Guide by Virginia Corvid, University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. Includes information about research strategies, and links to a variety of "women's history" collections at U.S. and international repositories.
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies: Feminist Theory
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies: Feminist Theory
WWU Library resource guide for feminist theory courses including women studies 212 course on feminist theory.

Campus Connections

This is a select list only - contact us or the Libraries' Reference Desk for more information and assistance.

Documenting The American South - Southern Women
Select oral histories from the Southern Oral History Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library: "These interviews reflect the influence of women in science, medicine, education, law, politics, activism, as well as in factories, where a significant portion of the workforce was and is made up of women."
HerStory
Call Number: HQ1154 H57 Wilson 2 East
* FORMAT & SCOPE: Microfilm, 1956 - 1974
WHAT: A comprehensive collection of materials produced by and about the women's movement. The collection has been assembled from the holdings of the International Women's History Research Centre. It includes newsletters, journals and newspapers produced by civic, professional, religious, political and peace groups. The bulk of materials included are from 1968 onward.
Herstory: a woman's view of American history
Contents: Spokes on the wheel of western culture, 1600-1775 -- The defiant ones, 1600-1775 -- Independence for whom? 1775-1800 -- The workers of America, 1800-1860 -- Woman's superior moral power, 1800-1860 -- The more things change, the more things stay the same, 1861-1880 -- Old and new problems, 1880-1900 -- Women remaking the world, 1900-1914 -- The hope dashed, 1914-1920 -- Buy, buy, buy, 1920-1929 -- Human miseries and joys, 1929-1945 -- New and old anxieties, 1945-1960 -- The new frontier? 1960-1973 -- The future is now.
Library of Congress American Memory Project
Digital collections re: women's history and suffrage. Digital resources can be searched by keyword.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
Resources for exploring the civil rights activism of women in the Pacific Northwest. Provides online access to a number of oral histories.
Sophia Smith Collection at Smith's College
Internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, archives, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history. Website provides access to significant oral history projects (full transcripts online) as well as digital collections.
Swathmore College Peace Collection
Provides access to digitized resources on topics including feminism and women's role in the peace movement, drawn from collections at Swathmore College, Pennsylvania.

Archives & Special Collections

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Archives & Special Collections provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.