This is the "Reference" page of the "COMM 398: Research Methods in Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COMM 398: Research Methods in Communication   Tags: comm, comm 398, communication, communication studies  

A course guide designed for the research needs of Communication 398 students.
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/comm398 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference @ Western Libraries

What are Reference Books?  Why are they important?

Reference books are encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials that provide readers with a thorough overview of a topic.  Some things to look for in a reference text are:

  1. Bibliographies:  Literally translated as 'A list of books,' this section is usually located at the end of an encyclopedic entry and contains a list of further sources for you to investigate.  A bibliography is a wonderful resource, simply because it gives you access to more information without having to search for the information.
  2. Keywords:  Some dictionaries and encyclopedias have a list of subject terms that are specific to your discipline.  Knowing some of these terms can help you when you conduct research.
  3. Chronologies:  Some dictionaries and encyclopedias have one or several chronologies.  A chronology is a timeline with important, discipline-specific events and is usually located in the front or back of a reference text.
  4. Entries:  The entries in a reference text provide background information on a specific topic, and are usually organized alphabetically.

Below I've provided a list of reference materials from the Reference Collection at Western Libraries.  These texts are located on second floor of Haggard Hall, and do not circulate.  However, you are more than welcome to scan or photocopy relevant entries!

 

Reference Texts

Cover Art
Communication Research: Strategies & Sources - Rebecca B. Rubin, Alan M. Rubin & Linda J. Piele, Eds.
Call Number: P91.3 .R83 2005
ISBN: 0534564860
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Dictionary of Media and Communications - Marcel Danesi, Ed.
Call Number: P87.5 .D359 2009
ISBN: 076568098X
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information - Jorge Reina Schement, Ed.
Call Number: P87.5 .E53 2001
ISBN: 0028653866
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory - Stephen W. Littlejohn & Karen A. Foss, Ed.
Call Number: P87.5 .E496 2009
ISBN: 1412959373
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Political Communication - Lynda Lee Kaid a& Christina Holtz-Bacha, Ed.
Call Number: JA85 .E64 2008
ISBN: 1412917999
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Intercultural Communication - Deborah A. Cai
Call Number: P94.6 .I58 2010
ISBN: 1848601204
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Media and Communication Research Methods - Arthur Asa Berger, Ed.
Call Number: P91.3 .B385 2000
ISBN: 0761918531
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
The Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research - Lawrence R. Frey, Ed.
Call Number: HM133 .H354 1999
ISBN: 0761910271
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
The International Encyclopedia of Communication - Wolfgang Donsbach, Ed.
Call Number: P87.5 .I58 2008
ISBN: 1405131993
Publication Date: 2008

Diversity & Disability Services Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Marrall
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip