About the Collection
Western Libraries has served as a selective depository library for U.S. Government publications since the 1960s, positioning us as an invaluable resource for interdisciplinary research and scholarship. Our Government Documents Collection houses hundreds of thousands of federal publications alongside materials from the State of Washington and the Canadian Federal Government. From tangible formats such as books, journals, and periodicals to digital formats such as CDs and DVDs, websites, and databases, our collection encompasses a wide range of resources that cater to diverse user preferences. Many materials in our Map Collection are also government publications. With a historic emphasis on the Pacific Northwest, we actively collect from dozens of federal government agencies, particularly the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Health & Human Services, Interior, and Congress.
Whether you're a researcher, student, or member of the public, Western Libraries can support your research needs with its rich collection of government publications. Our materials are accessible to everyone with valid identification, and most items can be checked out. Many publications are also available through InterLibrary Loan (ILL) and can be delivered to your local public library.
For research assistance and instructional workshops, contact the Government Documents Librarian.
Popular U.S. Government Websites
- Explore Census DataThe U.S. Census Bureau's main webpage for information from the 2000 Census and related data.
- Bonneville Power AdministrationThe Bonneville Power Administration, headquartered in Portland, Oregon, is a federal agency under the U.S. Department of Energy. BPA provides electricity for the Pacific Northwest.
- BusinessUSA.govA website jointly run by many federal agencies to give small businesses and exporters a one-stop location to seek information on grants, finance, exports, opportunities, etc.
- Assistance Listings (CFDA) [U.S. Government]A database of federal loans, grants, and services available to local governments, Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals.
- Data.gov [U.S. Government]A resource for open-access datasets generated by the Executive branch of the U.S. government.
- Geographic Names Information ServiceGNIS lists two million place names in the United States, with links to maps, and latitude/longitude information.
- National Climatic Data CenterThe world's largest archive of weather and climate data.
- Patents and TrademarksThe official website of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
- White HouseThe main website for the White House, including links to all cabinet departments and mjor independent agencies.
- World FactbookPublished annually by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, it contains almanac-style information about all the countries of the world.
Collections of U.S. Federal Documents
- EveryCRSReportThe Congressional Research Service is the branch of the Library of Congress that answers queries from members of Congress, often providing authoritative, nonpartisan summaries of current issues. CRS does not officially make its reports available to the public, but this nongovernment site has been doing so.
- Cybercemetery of Former Federal Web Sites [University of North Texas]A collection of U.S. Government websites that are no longer in use. The search function is broken, but websites can still be browsed by name, date of expiration, or branch of government.
- Homeland Security Digital Library [U.S. Department of Homeland Security / Naval Postgraduate School]A collection of documents related to homeland security, policy, strategy, and organizational management.
- National Archives [U.S. National Archives and Records Administration]A database providing full-text access to U.S. Government archive material, including the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Public Laws, United States Government Manual, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, U.S. Congress Information, and GPO Access Search.
- FDLP PartnershipsCollections of government publications (World War I posters, Panama Canal, Civil Rights Commission) made public by various libraries.
- History at the Federal GovernmentThis website, created by the Society for History in the Federal Government (a nonprofit organization) provides links to every government website describing the history of federal agencies.
- USGS Publications WarehouseThe Publications Warehouse is a collection of U.S. Geological Survey publications, and is intended to include all authored publications. Examples include the Hydrologic Atlas (1953-2002), Bulletins (1883-2010), and Aeromagnetic Map of Bellingham (1978).
Subject Librarian
Subject Guides
- Map CollectionWestern owns more than 100,000 maps, many of them published by the U.S. government. The Map Collection is on the second floor of Wilson Library.