This is the "Home" page of the "Library Instruction Credit Courses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Instruction Credit Courses  

Credit courses offered by Western Libraries for the current academic year
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/credit_courses Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Credit Courses

Western Libraries credit instruction, which includes a variety of courses, teaches information-seeking skills, research strategies, critical analysis and evaluation of information, and an understanding of the importance of information in our society.

Go to WWU ClassFinder to register.

For more information, contact Elizabeth Stephan, Western Libraries Instruction Coordinator, at (360) 650-2061 or email her at Elizabeth.Stephan@wwu.edu.

Learn more about the comprehensive instruction program provided by Western Libraries at:

 

Fall Quarter 2013

LIBRARY 201 Introduction to Research Strategies (4 credits) CCOM

Restrictions: FR SO. Prerequisites: ENG 101 or equivalent. GUR link; must also register for 41771. Soph restriction during Phase 1 registration.
Introduction to the nature of research and the interpretation of information. Emphasizes information literacy, including: carrying out inquiry, locating both print and online resources, analyzing and interpreting a variety of sources for authority and authenticity, and incorporating material from sources into writing.
LIBR 201 | Day(s) & Time: TR 10:00-11:50am | CRN 41023 | Fall 2013 | Instructor: Sylvia Tag

LIBRARY 201 Introduction to Research Strategies (4 credits) CCOM FIG

Restrictions: FR. Prerequisites: ENG 101 or equivalent. First-Year Interest Group (FIG). First-year students only. Must register for 43971 and 41668.
Introduction to the nature of research and the interpretation of information. Emphasizes information literacy, including: carrying out inquiry, locating both print and online resources, analyzing and interpreting a variety of sources for authority and authenticity, and incorporating material from sources into writing.
LIBR 201 | Day(s) & Time: TR 12:00-1:50pm | CRN 44154 | Fall 2013 | Instructor: Ryer Banta

LIBRARY 300 Directed Independent Study (1-15 credits)

Restrictions: PR
LIBR 300 | Day(s) & Time: TBA | CRN 40514 | Fall 2013 | Instructor: Staff

LIBRARY 320 Literacy Through Graphic Novel (3 credits)

Prerequisites: LIBR 201.
Varying topics in information studies including emerging technologies and trends in scholarly research. Repeatable to a maximum of 6 credits.
LIBR 320 | Day(s) & Time: TR 10:00-10:50am | CRN 43723 | Fall 2013 | Instructor: Rebecca Marrall

LIBRARY 320 Library Resources for Sustainability (3 credits)

Prerequisites: LIBR 201.
Varying topics in information studies including emerging technologies and trends in scholarly research. Repeatable to a maximum of 6 credits.
LIBR 320 | Day(s) & Time: MW 10:00-11:20am | CRN 43724 | Fall 2013 | Instructor: Rob Lopresti

 

Winter Quarter 2014

LIBRARY 201 Introduction to Research Strategies (4 credits) CCOM OL

Prerequisites: ENG 101 or equivalent.
Introduction to the nature of research and the interpretation of information. Emphasizes information literacy, including: carrying out inquiry, locating both print and online resources, analyzing and interpreting a variety of sources for authority and authenticity, and incorporating material from sources into writing.
LIBR 201 | Day(s) & Time: TBA | CRN 13595 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Gabe Gossett

LIBRARY 201 Introduction to Research Strategies (4 credits) CCOM

Prerequisites: ENG 101 or equivalent.
Introduction to the nature of research and the interpretation of information. Emphasizes information literacy, including: carrying out inquiry, locating both print and online resources, analyzing and interpreting a variety of sources for authority and authenticity, and incorporating material from sources into writing. 
LIBR 201 | Day(s) & Time: MW 10:00-11:20am | CRN 13598 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: TBA

LIBRARY 300 Directed Independent Study (1-15 credits)

Restrictions: PR
LIBR 300 | Day(s) & Time: TBA | CRN 10330 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Staff

LIBRARY 320 Archives/Special Collections Study (3 credits) WP3

Prerequisites: LIBR 201. Pre-req will not be enforced.
Varying topics and information studies including emerging technologies and trends in scholarly research. Repeatable to a maximum of 6 credits.
This course will provide a general introduction to the characteristics and uses of archival materials, records, and special collections. Students will have the opportunity to visit archives and special collections located on Western's campus, and conduct hands-on activities using manuscript materials, historical documents, and rare books.
LIBR 320 | Day(s) & Time: MW 1:00-2:20 pm | CRN 12541 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Peter Smith

LIBRARY 403 Research Tutorial (1 credit)

Prerequisites: Junior or senior status or permission of instructor.
Examines library resources, research processes, and scholarly discourse for upper-division students in a particular discipline. An upper-division library course intended to support advanced research methodologies for students in a particular major. Not repeatable. S/U grading. Equivalent to LIBR 402. Cannot take both LIBR 402 and 403 for credit.
LIBR 403 | Day(s) & Time: R 10:30-11:20am | CRN 11122 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Sylvia Tag

LIBRARY 403 Research Tutorial (1 credit)

Prerequisites: Junior or senior status or permission of instructor.
Examines library resources, research processes, and scholarly discourse for upper-division students in a particular discipline. An upper-division library course intended to support advanced research methodologies for students in a particular major. Not repeatable. S/U grading. Equivalent to LIBR 402. Cannot take both LIBR 402 and 403 for credit.
LIBR 403 | Day(s) & Time: R 8:30-9:20am | CRN 11143 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Sylvia Tag

LIBRARY 403 Research Tutorial (1-4 credits)

Prerequisites: Junior or senior status or permission of instructor. 
Examines library resources, research processes, and scholarly discourse for upper-division students in a particular discipline. An upper-division library course intended to support advanced research methodologies for students in a particular major. Not repeatable. S/U grading. Equivalent to LIBR 402. Cannot take both LIBR 402 and 403 for credit. 
LIBR 403 | Day(s) & Time: R 9:30-10:20am | CRN 13176 | Winter 2014 | Instructor: Sylvia Tag

 

Spring Quarter 2014

LIBRARY 201 Introduction to Research Strategies (4 credits) CCOM

Prerequisites: ENG 101 or equivalent. 
Introduction to the nature of research and the interpretation of information. Emphasizes information literacy, including: carrying out inquiry, locating both print and online resources, analyzing and interpreting a variety of sources for authority and authenticity, and incorporating material from sources into writing.
LIBR 201 | Day(s) & Time: TR 10:00-11:50 am | CRN 21389 | Spring 2014 | Instructor: Elizabeth Stephan

LIBRARY 300 Directed Independent Study (1-15 credits)

Restrictions: PR 
LIBR 300 | Day(s) & Time: TBA | CRN 20475 | Spring 2014 | Instructor: Staff

LIBRARY 302 Research Paper Tutorial (1-4 credits)

Prerequisites: Concurrent enrollment in 300-level writing intensive course 
This course is intended to be linked with upper-level writing intensive courses. The purpose of this course is to familiarize students with the methods of identifying the relevant body of knowledge in a discipline and the library research methods that will enable them to utilize this knowledge in successfully writing assigned research papers. Includes developing a research strategy and collecting resources for an annotated bibliography to accompany an assigned research paper in a linked 300-level course. 
LIBR 302 | Day(s) & Time: TR 10:00-11:15am | CRN 22133 | Spring 2014 | Instructor: Margaret Fast

LIBRARY 397C Digital Divide (4 credits)

Restrictions: ENG 101.
Course will examine the Digital Divide phenomenon in the United States, and address some of the underlying issues. Students will participate in service-learning opportunities in local libraries in attempt to better understand these issues. Note: There is a requirement of fifteen hours of service learning from each student to a regional library partner.
LIBR 397C | Day(s) & Time: TR 1:00-2:50pm | CRN 22879 | Spring 2014 | Instructor: Rebecca Marrall

Instruction Coordinator

Profile Image
Elizabeth Stephan
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Library WL274
360-650-2061 (phone)
360-389-2655 (SMS/text)
Send Email

Ask Us! Reference Service

Ask Us! Research Service - Anything, Anytime, Anywhere!

Library help is available for all your information and research needs. Just click on the link below to contact us in any of the following ways:

Research Help

For help with your research assignments, tools to get you started, Reference Desk hours, and contact information for subject librarians, go to:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip