Core Databases
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) Indexes the journal literature in the social sciences. Building on the list of cited sources for each reference, this index can search for works that have cited a specific author or article. Available via the Web of Science.
- Biological Sciences This database indexes a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science, providing access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Includes ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Sciences; Biology Digest; Conference Papers Index; MEDLINE; Oceanic Abstracts; and Plant Science.
- GreenFILE GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest publications that draw on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for hundreds of titles more.
- Homeland Security Digital Library A collection of more than 50,000 full-text publications related to homeland security; it is available because WWU is a federal depository library. Most of these publications are government documents and topics include terrorism, border issues, climate change, immigration, pandemics, school violence, food security, etc.
More
- Agricola (National Agricultural Catalog) Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
- Annual Reviews Annual Review articles covering topics within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Indexes and abstracts serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, etc., on the aquatic & marine sciences.
- BSDglobal (Business and Sustainable Development) This site explains the strategies and tools that companies can draw on to translate an aspiration of sustainability into practical, effective solutions. Case studies from around the world are provided as an example of each measure.
- EBSCO multiple database search EBSCO (All Databases) is a combination of Academic Search Complete (a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 10,000 journals, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals) and Business Source Complete (a full-text index to journals in business, management, marketing, etc.).
- JSTOR JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
- Oceanic Abstracts Oceanic Abstracts indexes and abstracts technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment; marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics worldwide.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) PAIS contains over 400,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
- Plant Science Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Site License.
- GeoRef Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef indexes and abstracts journals, special reports, etc. in geology, geophysics, and the earth sciences.
- HeinOnline HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of the complete historical run of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals. Other sources covered in full-text include published and unpublished treaties; The Federal Register (1936-present), U.S. Supreme Court Reports, and U.S. Attorney General Opinions. The U.S. Code of Federal Regulations CFR)is available full-text from inception in 1938 through the 1983 edition.
- Transportation Research Board Index (TBR Publications Index) The TRB Publications Index contains over 41,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date.
- Tranweb The TRAN File contains bibliographic and location information for magazine articles, conference papers, and other material on transportation and law enforcement topics. Coverage generally extends back through 1979 and for scholarly journals generally back through 1976.
- TRID (Transportation Research Board of the National Academies) TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Librarian for Environmental Studies
Related Guides
Access and Use of Aerial Photographs
- Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Information about aerial images available at WWU's Center for Pacific Northwest Studies and elsewhere.
90 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 19, 2012
Information about aerial images available at WWU's Center for Pacific Northwest Studies and elsewhere.
90 views this year
Databases for Environmental Studies
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
656 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
656 views this year
ENVS 240 Geography and World Affairs: Library Resources
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
This page lists resources suitable for doing research for the EGEO 209 class.
13 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
This page lists resources suitable for doing research for the EGEO 209 class.
13 views this year
ENVS 304: Environmental and Resource Policy - Library Resources
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
22 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
22 views this year
ENVS 305: Environmental History and Ethics, Library Resources
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
2 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
2 views this year
ENVS 370: History and Politics of Planning: Library Resources
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
16 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 31, 2012
16 views this year
ESCI 325: Fundamentals of Ecology - Library Resources
- Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
23 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
23 views this year
ESCI 423: Past Environments of the Pacific Northwest: Library Resources
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
4 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
4 views this year
ESCI 501: Research in Environmental Science - Library Resources
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
104 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
104 views this year
Fisheries Technology Program (BTC): Western Library Resources
- Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Resources and services available at or through WWU libraries useful to the students in the Fisheries Technology Program at Bellingham Technical College.
9 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Resources and services available at or through WWU libraries useful to the students in the Fisheries Technology Program at Bellingham Technical College.
9 views this year
Government Environmental Websites
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
This is a selection of websites about environmental issues produced by agencies of the U.S. Government.
37 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
This is a selection of websites about environmental issues produced by agencies of the U.S. Government.
37 views this year
Library Services for Extended and Outreach Education
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This is a site focused on library services to Extended and Outreach Education students and instructors.
808 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
This is a site focused on library services to Extended and Outreach Education students and instructors.
808 views this year
Map Collection
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
Western Libraries has more than 150,000 maps in Wilson 1 West.
864 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
Western Libraries has more than 150,000 maps in Wilson 1 West.
864 views this year
Microform Collections
- Last Updated May 31, 2013
Information about selected microform collections at Western Libraries.
325 views this year
- Last Updated May 31, 2013
Information about selected microform collections at Western Libraries.
325 views this year
Native Plants and Fungi of the Pacific Northwest
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2012
Northwest native plant resources available from the Western Libraries collection and the Web, including identification manuals and field guides.
749 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 13, 2012
Northwest native plant resources available from the Western Libraries collection and the Web, including identification manuals and field guides.
749 views this year
Research and Resources On Fish and Fishing
- Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about the history of fish and fishing, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
52 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about the history of fish and fishing, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
52 views this year
Research and Resources on Northwest Native American and Tribal History
- Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about Northwest Native American and First Nations' history and culture, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
124 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
A brief guide to archival and other resources about Northwest Native American and First Nations' history and culture, with a focus on the holdings of Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.
124 views this year


Loading...
