History Day Resources at Western Libraries: Introduction
Research at Western Libraries
The Libraries at Western Washington University provide extensive collections of books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, manuscripts and other resources to help with your History Day research.
You will also want to visit Heritage Resources. "The Heritage Resources unit provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings."
Additional information about the Heritage Resources departments:
- Center for Pacific Northwest Studies: The Center’s collections include private papers, and organizational and institutional records documenting economic, social, cultural and political trends significant to the Pacific Northwest.
- Western Libraries Special Collections: Special Collections collects, organizes, describes, preserves, and maintains unique intellectual and cultural heritage materials and promotes the use of these resources by the University community, scholars, and the public. Our goal is to advance scholarship and further the educational, research, and service missions of the university.
- WWU Archives and Records Center: The University Archives and Records Center has been in operation since 1973 and has been program of the library since 1977. The University Archives is the sole, official repository for the records of WWU and presently has more than 3000 linear feet of archival material documenting the history of Western from 1895 to the present. This includes records in all formats (bound volumes, loose paper, photographic, audiovisual, digital) and from all major campus units including the Board of Trustees, President, Vice Presidents, Colleges, Academic Programs, Administrative/business units, and Associated Students—even Western Libraries. The Records Center has an additional 6000 linear feet of non-permanent records that we manage for units from all over campus, providing constant reference to those materials.
Visiting Western Libraries
For more information about arranging History Day research visits to Western Libraries, or to Heritage Resources, please look through the following guides:
WWU Main Library visits: Email Elizabeth Stefan: Elizabeth.Stefan@wwu.edu
A librarian or reference specialist will work with you to design a group research visit to meet your students' needs.
Ask Us! Research Services
Ask Us! Research Service - Anything, Anytime, Anywhere!
Library help is available for all your information and research needs. Just click on the link below to contact us in any of the following ways: