Discipline-specific article databases and related resources
- IIMP Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals)
IIMP Full Text provides indexing and abstracts for music periodicals, covering both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
- Music Index (via EBSCO)
This is an index of scholarly articles, obituaries, book reviews and performance reviews. Print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).
- Canadian Music Periodical Index
The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on music articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. 630 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
- Music in Print
Music-in-Print is an online international database of published music. It is divided into separate databases for: Sacred Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, and Piano Music In Print.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogues of BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels, containing thousands of CDs and tracks of music in an ever growing collection. Naxos includes classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
- Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)
Oxford Music Online covers all aspects of music, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions. This resource includes Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM Abstracts provide access to portions of books and international periodical literature. The print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 1 I83).
- Visit the WWU "Playlist Page" on a computer.
- In the "Student/Member Playlist" banner - click on Sign Up!
- Enter the basic information
- Once confirmed, your email address and custom password become your NML iPhone app login. Since this is associated with the WWU subscription, you're able to log in anytime, anywhere!