Selected Books that Refer to Site Reports
- Andean Archaeology (2 volumes)Call Number: F2229 .A555 2002
- Avian OsteologyCall Number: CC79.5.A5 G538 1996
- Deciphering a Shell MiddenCall Number: CC77.S5 D43 1992
Mockeries and Metamorphoses of an Aztec God : Tezcatlipoca, "Lord of the Smoking Mirror"Call Number: F1219.76.R45 O55 2003
Vashon Island archaeology : a view from Burton Acres Shell MiddenCall Number: E99.P8 V37 2002- Villagers of the Maros : A Portrait of an Early Bronze Age SocietyCall Number: GN778.22.H9 O73 1996
Searching the Library Catalog
Searching by keyword
Words to try along with a country name, region and/or type of site (cave, rockshelter, mound, petroglyphs, village) or name of a specific group or tribe of people (salish, navajo)
- excavations - archaeology
- antiquities
- archaeology
Searching for specific sites
The name of the archaeologial site is usually a "Subject Heading." Select Subject search from the main catalog and enter the site name. Here are some examples:
- leaning oak site
- bravo creek site
- mesa site
- petersen house
- owl cave site
Search for sites by country
To locate archaeological sites in Canada and the United States (no particular site) use the following format: province or state followed by the word antiquities. for example:
- north dakota - antiquities
- british columbia - antiquities
To locate sites by any other country (no particular site) use the following subject heading structure:
- france -- antiquities
- india -- antiquities
Some broad Subject Headings to use for northwest sites
- excavations - archaeology - washington state
- excavations - archaeology - oregon
- excavations - archaeology alaska
- excavations - archaeology - northwest pacific
- washington state - antiquities
Search Databases for Site Reports Published in Journal Articles
Search the following databases to locate site reports published in journals.
- Anthropology Plus [EBSCO]An index of citations to international publications in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, material culture, folklore and interdisciplinary studies.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials [EBSCO]A database containing indexed citations and full-texts of journal articles, essays, and book reviews covering religious and theological literature. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- America: History and Life [EBSCO]An index of over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Includes citations and links to books and media reviews.
- BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies [EBSCO]An index of nearly 900,000 citations to publications in Asian Studies dating back to 1971.
- GeoRef [EBSCO]A comprehensive index of over 2.8 million citations to international geoscience literature. Produced by the American Geological Institute.
Tip:When full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). - Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
- JSTOR [ITHAKA]A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
- Web of Science [Clarivate]A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).Tip:You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.
Librarian Subject Team
Site Reports Published by the United States Government
Federal and state laws that protect the environment include protection for designated archaeological sites. As a result the government is involved in managing archaeological sites on federal and state lands such as parks and forests. Construction projects often require archaeological surveys to locate prehistoric or historic sites and the excavation of some sites before construction is allowed to begin. Many of these sites can be found with the search techniques in this guide. You can also use the following U.S. Government database to locate site reports.
National Archaelogical Database (National Parks)