Unmaking the Bomb: Environmental Cleanup and the Politics of Impossibility
by
Atomic Days: The Untold Story of the Most Toxic Place in America
by
Echoes of Exclusion and Resistance: Voices from the Hanford Region
by
Nowhere to Remember: Hanford, White Bluffs, and Richland to 1943
by
Atomic Frontier Days: Hanford and the American West
by
What is OneSearch?
OneSearch is Western Libraries' central discovery tool. You can use OneSearch to locate books, videos, and articles in a variety of formats.
When searching in OneSearch for materials related to the Hanford Site, the search term of "Hanford" provides the highest level of results. But they're also the most unwieldy to utilize as a researcher. This search can be narrowed down using the following subject headings:
Hanford Site (Wash.) -- History
Washington (State) -- Hanford Site
Environmental management -- Washington (State) -- Hanford Site
It can also be useful to look at the subject headings assigned to materials you're interested in utilizing. These subject headings and keywords may help to narrow the search down further.
Hanford Health Information Archives, Oral History Collection, 1996-2000 - This collection contains transcripts of oral history interviews conducted from 1996 through 2000 by the Hanford Health Information Network (HHIN) and deposited in the Hanford Health Information Archives (HHIA). HHIA was established to preserve the medical and personal histories and document the experiences of people who were or may have been exposed to releases of radiation from the Hanford Nuclear Reservation from 1944 to 1972. Those individuals refer to themselves as “downwinders.” Of 670 donors to the HHIA, 201 individuals and two groups donated oral histories.
Hanford History Project (also found here) - The Hanford History Project is an archive and curatorial repository focusing on the Hanford site and the Tri-Cities region. We administer the Department of Energy’s Hanford Collection, partner with Northwest Public Television for an oral history project focused on Manhattan Project and Cold War-era Hanford workers, and house numerous collections donated by the community. The Hanford History Project provides academic and historical gateways for students and the general public.
Hanford Site Forty-Year Environmental Data Collection, 1943-1986 - This Hanford Site Forty-Year Environmental Data Collection contains government documents and internal technical reports that document environmental monitoring at the Hanford Site, a nuclear production complex in southeast Washington that was constructed beginning in 1943 and fully decommissioned in 1987. Included among the collection's environmental monitoring reports are documents related to effluent releases into the environment, both planned and unplanned.
Hanford Engineer Works aerial photograph - The Hanford Engineer Works in Hanford, Washington, was a plutonium production facility that was first constructed during World War II. This item is a digital copy of the aerial photograph of the Hanford facility.
