Library Guides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Databases

Core Databases

PubMed [National Center for Biotechnology Information]

A database of more than 26 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-texts are available.

Create an account in PubMed in order to record your search activity, generate search alerts, and customize your search preferences. Search activity is retained for 6 months.
ComDisDome [ProQuest]

A database of communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]

A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip: This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
ERIC [EBSCO]

The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
ERIC [ProQuest]

The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
MEDLINE [EBSCO]

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database includes citations from over 5,200 scholarly journals from around the world. These journals are carefully vetted prior to inclusion in the database. Records date back to 1946. Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and related topics.

MEDLINE is also included within the PubMed database. This EBSCO-based version is great for people familiar with EBSCO functionality. It also provides access to saved searches, MeSH trees, and a MeSH search generator.
Web of Science [Clarivate]

A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]

A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.

Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
Annual Reviews

A database of articles covering significant yearly developments in biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Tip: When full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Communication and Mass Media Complete [EBSCO]

An interdisciplinary database of journals relating to communication and mass media. Covers such topics as television, advertising, linguistics, and interpersonal communication.
Social Sciences Databases [ProQuest]

A multi-database search tool combining all the ProQuest social sciences databases.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [Proquest]

A database of indexes and abstracts for publications covering all aspects of the study of language and linguistics.
SPORTDiscus [EBSCO]

A database of citations and abstracts to sports literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, sport and biomechanics, sport psychology, training, coaching, and related topics. Coverage begins in 1800.
Mental Measurements Yearbook / Tests in Print [EBSCO]

A directory for all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Includes full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Music Index [EBSCO]

An index to publications about music and musicians, including performance reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and book reviews.
Tip: A print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Librarian Subject Team

Core Databases

More