Introduction
Interested in primary sources on the history of Bellingham, Whatcom County, Washington or the Northwest? This guide lists a selection of local and regional archives, libraries, museums and other resources to which we frequently refer researchers. This list is not exhaustive. Please contact us if you have questions about locating records on a particular topic.
Resources A-Z
- Alaska State Library/Historical CollectionsPO Box 110571, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0571
Phone: 907.465.2925 Email: asl.historical@alaska.gov - American Museum of Radio and Electricity1312 Bay Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 738-3886 - Anacortes History Museum1305 8th St, Anacortes WA 98221
Phone: 360 293 1915 Email:coa.museum@cityofanacortes.org - Archives Building Reference LibraryResources housed in the reference library at the Goltz-Murray Archives Building. Cataloging of these titles began in March 2010 and is still in progress. Please contact Archives Building staff if you have questions.
- Bellingham Maritime MuseumPO Box 28220 Bellingham WA 98228
info@bellinghammaritimemuseum.org
Phone : (360) 592-4122 - Bellingham LDS Family History Center2925 James St Bellingham, WA
Phone: (360)738-1849 - Bellingham Public Library210 Central Avenue, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 778-7323 - Bellingham Railway Museum1320 Commercial St, Bellingham, Washington 98225
Phone: (360) 393-7540 - Black Heritage Society of Washington StatePhone: (206)551-3278 Email: TheBoard@Blackheritagewa.org
- Everett Public Library - Northwest History Room2702 Hoyt Ave, Everett, WA 98201
Phone: 425-257-8005 Email: libnw@ci.everett.wa.us - King County Archives1215 E. Fir Street, Seattle, WA 98122
Phone: (206) 296-1538
E-mail: archives@kingcounty.gov - Lummi Nation Archives and Records Center2616 Kwina Rd, Bellingham WA 98226
Phone: (360) 384-2264 - Lynden Pioneer Museum217 Front Street, Lynden, Washington 98264
Phone: (360) 354-3675 - Maritime Museum of San Diego1492 North Harbor Drive San Diego, California 92101
Phone : 619-234-9153 Email : info@sdmaritime.org - Museum of History & Industry (MOHAI)McCurdy Park, 2700 24th Ave. E, Seattle, WA 98112.
Phone (206) 324-1126 - National Archives (Pacific Alaska Region)6125 Sand Point Way NE, Seattle WA 98115-7999
Phone: (206) 336 5115 Email: seattle.archives@nara.gov - North Cascades Institute Environmental Learning Center - Wild Ginger Library810 State Route 20, Sedro-Woolley, WA 98284
Tel: (206) 526 2584 - Seattle Municipal ArchivesPhone: (206) 233-7807 or (206) 684-8353
Email: archives@seattle.gov - Skagit County Historical Society and Museum501 South 4th, La Conner, Washington 98257
Phone: (360) 466-3365 - Stillaguamish Valley Genealogical Society and Library135 N. Olympic Ave, Arlington WA 98223
Phone: 360 435 4838 Email: info@StillyGen.org - Tacoma Public Library - Northwest Room and Special CollectionsPhone (main library): 253) 591-5666
Email: nwr@tacomapubliclibrary.org - University of Washington Libraries - Special CollectionsPhone: 206-543-1929
- Washington State Archives (NW Regional Branch)Goltz-Murray Archives Building, Western Washington University, Bellingham, Washington 98225-9123
Phone: 360 650 3125 - Washington State Department of Health - Vital RecordsNB. See also the Washington State Archives (FAQ page) and Washington State Digital Archives.
Phone: (360) 236-4300
Email: contactchs@doh.wa.gov - Washington State Historical Society / History Museum1911 Pacific Avenue, Tacoma, WA 98402
Phone: (253) 272-9747 - Washington State LibraryPO Box 42460, Olympia WA 98504-2460
Phone: (360) 704-5200 - Western Washington University - Center for Pacific Northwest StudiesGoltz-Murray Archives Building, Western Washington University, Bellingham WA 98225-9123
Phone: 360 650 7747 - Western Washington University - Huxley Map LibraryArntzen Hall 101, Western Washington University
Bellingham, WA 98225-9085
Phone: (360) 650-3272 - Western Washington University - Western Libraries Special CollectionsWilson Library, 516 High Street, Bellingham WA 98225
Phone: (360) 650-3193 - Western Washington University Archives and Records CenterGoltz-Murray Archives Building, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA 98225-9123
Phone: (360) 650-3124 - Whatcom Genealogy SocietyP.O. Box 1493, Bellingham, Washington 98227
- Whatcom Museum of History & Art121 Prospect Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone: (360) 778-8930
Photo Archives Email: photoarchives@cob.org
Photo Archives Phone: (360) 778-8950 - Wing Luke Asian MuseumWing Luke Museum/Governor Gary Locke Library & Community Heritage Center
719 South King Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: (206) 623-5124
Archives & Special Collections
Archives & Special Collections
Contact:
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193
University Archives and Records Management, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124
Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website
University Archives and Records Management, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124
Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534