Library Guides: KIN 306: Measurement and Evaluation in Kinesiology: Databases

Core Databases

SPORTDiscus [EBSCO]
A database of citations and abstracts to sports literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, sport and biomechanics, sport psychology, training, coaching, and related topics. Coverage begins in 1800.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
ERIC [EBSCO]
The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
Kinesiology Abstracts Online [University of Oregon]
An open-access collection of bulletins that provided abstracts of kinesiology research. Coverage is from 1992-2006.
CGP: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications [U.S. Government]
A catalog of print and electronic publications created by federal agencies. Citations and full-texts are available with coverage beginning in 1976.
CQ Researcher [CQ Press / Sage]
A resource for in-depth coverage of political and social issues, written by experienced journalists.
Published 44 times a year, each 12,000-word report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, statements from representatives of opposing viewpoints, and bibliographies of key sources. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Google Scholar
A tool to conduct a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, patents, and technical reports.
Tip:
Use Google Scholar to see how often a publication has been cited and connect to WWU subscriptions off campus. How do I connect Google Scholar to library subscriptions from off campus?
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip:
This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
PubMed [National Center for Biotechnology Information]
A database of more than 26 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-texts are available.
Tip:
If a full-text is not available on PubMed, check for article access by searching by title in OneSearch.

Subject Librarian

Hacherl Research & Writing Studio

Email Me

Contact:

Find us in-person: Haggard Hall, second floor, east wing

360-650-3219