Library Guides: WWU Physical and Built Environment: Home

Introduction

This guide highlights archival collections, records and resources documenting the history of property, structures, and places owned or managed by Western Washington University.

Most of the resources described here are housed by the Archives & Special Collections of Western Libraries: the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU's Archives and Records Center. If you have more questions about these resources - or can't find what you are looking for - please contact us for more information.

Collections of General Interest

Researchers with a general interest in campus history may find useful information in the following collections:

Special Collections - Campus History Collection
Special Collections - Oral History Program
Recorded memories and observations about Western's history, from participants including former faculty members, administrators, staff, alumni, and Campus School students.
Western Washington University Centennial Oral History Project
Housed at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, these interviews document reflections of various Western faculty, staff, presidents and other administrators of the university from its origins as Bellingham Normal School to its current university status for the celebration of of its centennial.

Film Footage

"A Professor Looks At His College". October 24, 1964 film footage showing a variety of building and locations on Western's campus. KVOS Channel 12 Films, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University.

Program Links

Fairhaven College under construction, 1968

Accession 85-35, University Archives

Select Publications on Campus History

For titles relating to the history of Western, try searching the Libraries' catalog using the subject heading "Western Washington University -- History". Researchers may find the following to be useful:

Recollections of Herbert R. Hearsey : an autobiographical account by Hearsey, Herbert R., 1910-
Publication Date: 2003
A brief history of Western Washington State College by Office of Institutional Research, Western Washington State College.
Publication Date: 1972
Perspectives on excellence : a century of teaching and learning at Western Washington University by Roland L. De Lorme, editor, with Steven W. Inge.
Publication Date: 2000

Archives & Special Collections

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Archives & Special Collections provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.