Library Guides: World's Fairs and Expositions: Archival and Special Collection Holdings at Western

Western Libraries Special Collections

Century 21; the story of the Seattle World’s Fair, 1962 by Morgan, Murray, 1916-2000.
Art since 1950: American and International
Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition : Washington's first world's fair : a timeline history by Stein, Alan J.
Northwest Coast Indian art : an exhibit at the Seattle World's Fair Fine Arts Pavilion, April 21-October 21,1962 by Gunther, Erna, 1896-1982.
Beverly Gray at the World's fair by Blank, Clair
The forest city; a portfolio of official photographic views of the universal exposition, St. Louis, 1904 by Stevens, Walter B. (Walter Barlow), 1848-1939.
The magic city : a massive portfolio of original photographic views of the great World's Fair and its treasures of art by St. Louis, Mo. : Historical Pub. Co., 1894.
St. Louis and the world's fair. by St. Louis : Robert A. Reid, 1904.
The photographic World's fair and Midway plaisance : the main buildings, the entrances, the foreign, state and territorial buildings, the charming water views, statuary and paintings, and the most striking scenes on Midway Plaisance. by Chicago : W.B. Conkey Co., 1894

Locating Primary Sources on Campus

Many of the resources housed by Archives & Special Collections document different aspects of campus, local and regional history. Contact staff at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections and the WWU Archives with questions about how to find and access resources on a particular topic.

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies

CPNWS Miscellaneous Manuscript Collection
Includes the following: "Columbian Album: Containing Photographic Views of Buildings and Points of Interest about the Grounds of the World’s Columbian Exposition, 1893"

Contact CPNWS at cpnws@wwu.edu or 360 650 7747 with any questions.

CPNWS Pamphlet Collection
Contains publications and pamphlets relating to different World's Fairs, including the Alaska Yukon Pacific Exposition (1909) and the Century 21 Exposition in Seattle (1962).
CPNWS Photo Database
Searchable catalog of item-level description for over 7000 historic photographic images housed at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies.
Funk (Wallie V.) Papers
Includes images documenting Whidbey Island Naval Air Station.
KVOS Channel 12 Films
Reel-to-reel films of KVOS television programs filmed and broadcast between 1961 and 1967. A small number are available online as part of Western Libraries' Digital Collections. Films including "A Professor Looks at His College", "The Key to the College Door" include footage of the interior and exterior of Old Main.
Thompson Family Papers
includes scrapbook re: the Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition of 1909.

Archives & Special Collections

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Archives & Special Collections provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.