Library Guides: World War I and World War II: Home

Introduction

An introduction to resources documenting World War I and World War II history, focusing on the local and regional impact of these conflicts.

This guide is not exhaustive - please contact Archives & Special Collections staff and/or the Western Libraries Research Consultation Desk if you need assistance finding more information.

Information compiled by graduate intern Megan Garbett, with additional contributions by Archives & Special Collections staff.

Where Can I Locate Historical Resources at Western?

Western Libraries' Archives & Special Collections programs house and provide access to a wide variety of rare, unique and archival resources. Don't hesitate to contact staff at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections or WWU Archives and Records Center with questions about collections and how to access resources.

From the Library Catalog (Published Resources)

Journal of the Whatcom Historical Society by Whatcom County Historical Society
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection - Periodicals F897.W57 J68
Publication Date: 2000 +
For example, see April 2004 Special Edition for undergraduate-authored articles re: Spanish Influenza in Bellingham, 1918-1919 (Melissa Mabee) and women workers in Bellingham during World War II (Robert Wayne Parker).

You may find the following subject terms useful in searching the Libraries' catalog
(please ask us or contact the Libraries Research Consultation Desk at 650 2836 if you need assistance):

World War, 1914 1918
World War, 1914-1918 -- Washington (State)
World War, 1914 1918 -- Women
Influenza -- History
World War, 1939-1945
World War, 1939 1945 -- Washington State
World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans

also Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945

World War, 1939-1945 -- Women

also World War, 1939 1945 -- Participation, Female
also Sexual division of labor -- United States -- History -- 20th century
also Women -- Employment -- United States -- History -- 20th century

World War I 1914 1918

With the Colors, from Whatcom, Skagit and San Juan Counties: an honor roll containing a pictorial record of the gallant and courageous men from Northwestern Washington, U.S.A., who served in the world war, 1917-1918-1919 by Jacobin, Louis
Call Number: Available at Archives & Special Collections--Special Collections Rare Book Collection D570.85.W3 J3
Publication Date: 1921
World War II 1939 - 1945
America at its Best [videorecording]: Legacy of Two Nisei Patriots by Seattle, Wash.: Nisei Veterans Committee
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection - Media D753.8 .A44 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Along with Washingtonians William Nakamura and James Okubo, twenty other Asian American veterans, mostly Nisei (second-generation Japanese Americans), were awarded the Medal of Honor on June 21, 2000, for their service in World War II. Nakamura and Okubo were honored again on March 25, 2001, at a ceremony in Seattle, Washington. This video commemorates them and the thousands of other Nisei who served in the 100/442nd Regimental Combat Team, and Military Intelligence Service, during World War II.
Bellingham's Japanese Residents Never Returned by Morris, Carol Teshima
Call Number: Western Library - Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection - Periodicals F897.W57 J68 no. 1
Publication Date: 2000 April
Published in: Journal of the Whatcom County Historical Society, no. 1, April, 2000.
Breaking German Codes [videorecording] by Bellingham, Wash. : Western Washington University, 2000.
Reminiscences of Peter J. Hilton's experiences working with a group of mathematicians during World War II at the British government code and cipher school at Bletchley Park to help break the German military command's Enigma code, among others. Hilton also talks about his association with Alan Turing.
Gender at Work by Ruth Milkman
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 3E - Books HD6060.65.U5 M55 1987
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Imprisoned in Paradise by Priscilla Wegars; Michiko Midge Ayukawa (Foreword by)
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 3W - Books (D769.8.A6 W44 2010)
Publication Date: 2010
Imprisoned in Paradise exposes the U.S.'s little-known WWII rendition of Japanese Latin Americans, including men kidnapped from their homes in Peru, Panama and Mexico and interned at the Kooskia Camp. Unlike Japanese Americans who have received an official apology and redress from the U.S. government, the Japanese Latin Americans are still waiting to obtain justice for the violation of their human rights. Here, finally, is their story.
Lest We Forget: 1941-1945 The War Years: Aviation History of Whatcom County by Mullen, Neill D.
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection TL522.W2 M85 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Mexican Labor and World War II: Braceros in the Pacific Northwest, 1942-1947 by Erasmo Gamboa; Kevin Leonard
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 3E - Books HD1527.A19 G36 2000
Publication Date: 1999
A study of the bracero program during World War II. It describes the labor history of Mexican and Chicano workers in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. It analyses the ways in which Braceros were active agents of their own lives. It also describes the living and working conditions in migrant farm camps.
Nisei Daughter by Monica Itoi Sone
Call Number: Wilson 3W - Books (E184.J3 S6)
Publication Date: 1979
With charm, humor, and deep understanding, a Japanese American woman tells how it was to grow up on Seattle's waterfront in the 1930s and to be subjected to "relocation" dring World War II. Along with some 120,000 other persons of Japanese ancestry--77,000 of whom were U.S. citizens--she and her family were uprooted from their home and imprisoned in a camp. In this book, first published in 1952, she provides a unique personal account of these experiences. "Monica Sone's account of life in the relocation camps is both fair and unsparing. It is also deeply touching, and occasionally hilarious."--New York Herald Tribune "The deepest impression that this unaffected, honest little story made on me was of smiling courage."--San Francisco Chronicle
Shop Traditions: Maintaining Masculinity at Boeing Aircraft Company During World War II by Myers, Polly M. (Polly Marie)
Call Number: Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection LD5778.9 .M927
Publication Date: 2003
The Pacific Northwest Goes to War (State of Washington) by Ritchie, Arthur J.
Publication Date: 1944
Available at Archives & Special Collections--University Archives & Center for Pacific NW Studies Reference Room (HC107.W2 R5)

Related Research Guides

Databases for History
Discipine-specific article databases. May require WWU log-in.

More Campus Connections

Associated Students of WWU - Veterans Outreach Center
The VOC helps veterans and concerned individuals with information about employment, educational opportunities, counseling, disabilities, and benefit information. The VOC also serves as an advocate for veterans on Western’s campus while striving to create a united community of support and understanding.
WWU Veterans Services Pages
Information provided by WWU's Registrar's Office

Archives & Special Collections

OUR MISSION

The Archives & Special Collections unit provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.