Library Guides: World War I and World War II: Other Useful Resources

Other Repositories and Online Resources

The Library Guide below lists a selection of local and regional archives, libraries, museums and other resources to which we frequently refer researchers. This list is not exhaustive. Contact us if you have questions about locating records on a particular topic.

DENSHO: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all.
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Personal and official documents, transcribed oral histories, and works of art bring viewers inside the Japanese-American internment experience during World War II.
National Archives - Military Records
Extensive information from the National Archives about research and access to Federal military service records. Also includes links to other museums, memorials and history sites.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
Washington State Archives
Records of public government in Washington State, including some military records.

More Campus Connections

Associated Students of WWU - Veterans Outreach Center
The VOC helps veterans and concerned individuals with information about employment, educational opportunities, counseling, disabilities, and benefit information. The VOC also serves as an advocate for veterans on Western’s campus while striving to create a united community of support and understanding.
WWU Veterans Services Pages
Information provided by WWU's Registrar's Office

Washington State Archives (NW Regional Branch)

Jefferson County Auditor, Adjusted Services Certificates, 1925
Certificates issued by the United States Government under the World War Adjustment Compensation Act awarding cash amounts to veterans. Records include name, address, amount of certificates, date of certificate, and date due

Select resources available through the Washington State Archives' Northwest Regional Branch (360 650 3125 or nwbrancharchives@sos.wa.gov), housed in the Goltz-Murray Archives Building at Western Washington University. The Northwest Branch works with local government records from Whatcom, Skagit, Snohomish, Island, Clallam, Jefferson and San Juan counties.

Northwest Region Special Collections, Edward Hardin Family Papers, 1830-1940s
A collection of uncertain provenance contains the bible of Reverend James William Wells of the Congregational Circuit out of Ferndale, 1888-1889, with sermon notes. Much of the material is about or from the Edward Hardin family of Whatcom County, including newspaper clippings and miscellaneous Superior Court documents. Early autograph or poetry books from other parts of the country are from 1830-1883. A boxed set of photos "Relating to the ARMY and NAVY-Man o' War Views and Scenes in the Philippines, Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Hawaiian Islands and other Countries" is not dated.
Skagit County Auditor, Adjusted Service Certificates, 1925-1931
Certificates issued by the United States Government under the World War Adjustment Compensation Act awarding cash amounts to veterans. Records include name, address, amount of certificates, date of certificate, and date due.
Snohomish County Superior Court Clerk, Repatriation Petitions, 1919-1945
Records are instruments by which women who had lost citizenship through marriage to an alien prior to September 22, 1922, and who could qualify for administration of the oath of allegiance to the US, filed and were granted this privilege. Military repatriation petitions are those of American citizens who had expatriated themselves by taking an oath of allegiance to a foreign country at the time of joining the army of that country, prior to the time the US entered into WWI. Petitions include name, birth place, birth date, residence and personal description of petitioner, date and place of marriage, citizenship and residence of spouse, if living, and other data. Arranged chronologically.
Various County Auditors, Military Discharge Records, various years
Records of discharges from service in the United States military includes filing date, name, address, terms of discharge, service branch, length of service, number and rank, birthplace and date, and physical description.
Whatcom County Superior Court Clerk, Applications to Take Oath to Regain Citizenship, 1922-1953
Record consists of two forms constituting the court record of citizenship regained by native-born U.S. citizens: one form used by women who have lost U.S. citizenship by reason of marriage prior to September 1922 to an alien and whose marital status has terminated, and one for anyone who is "deemed to have expatriated himself by taking an oath of allegiance to enter the military or naval service of a country "at war with country with which the United States is now at war" may resume his American citizenship."

Archives & Special Collections

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Archives & Special Collections provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.