Library Guides: Flute Resources: Home

Photo

Helpful Links

Berklee College of Music Woodwind Guide
The National Flute Association
Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection
Collection of flutes and other instruments, statuary, iconography, books, music, tutors, patents, and other materials relating to the flute. Contains Western and non-Western examples of instruments, including a significant number of European and American makes.

Call Numbers for Music Scores

Flute solo........................M60-64

Flute solo with piano.........M1021

Flute (2 or more).............M288

Flute sonata....................M241-244

Wind trio.........................M356

Wind quartet....................M458

Wind quintet....................M557

Core Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index [Government of Canada]
An index of citations to over 37,000 music-related articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day.
Music Online: Classical Music Library [Alexander Street]
A repository of classical music recordings ranging from medieval to modern times.
Music Periodicals Database [ProQuest]
A database of indexed abstracts and full-texts for music periodicals, covering both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
medici.tv
A repository and live streaming service for arts performances, documentaries, and other educational videos. Includes opera, dance, and concert performances.
Tip: Users may create individual accounts, see individual account instructions.
Music Index [EBSCO]
An index to publications about music and musicians, including performance reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and book reviews.
Tip: A print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).
Naxos Music Library [Naxos Digital Services]
A collection containing almost 2 million tracks of classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Notes and biographical information are included with the music.
Met Opera on Demand [The Metropolitan Opera]
Met Opera on Demand offers users instant access to full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) [Oxford University Press]
A reference resource covering all aspects of music, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [EBSCO]
A database providing access to portions of books, international periodical literature, and other music publications.
Tip: The print version is available in the Music Library building reference area (ML 1 I83).

Subject Terms

How to search the catalog:

On the library catalog page, change the drop-down menu to "Subject" and use any of these terms.
These are the Library of Congress classification terms.

Flute

Flute Construction

Flute History

Flute Instruction and Study

Flute Methods

Flute Methods Bibliography

Flute Methods Early Works to 1800

Flute Music

Flute Music Bibliography

Flute Music History and Criticism

Flute Music Interpretation

Flute Studies and Exercises

Flute with Ensemble

Flute with Orchestra

Guide development

Guide developed by Kaleigh Cook, WWU Distinguished Student Employee

cookk9@students.wwu.edu