Library Guides: Nursing Resources: Research Databases, eBooks, and External Resources

Introduction

A few things to keep in mind as a Nursing Student:

Whether you do research on or off-campus, we can usually get you the research materials you will need through Summit & Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Set up your ILL account BEFORE you start researching by visiting https://library.wwu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries-ill-summit and logging in with your WWU Universal ID and password.
Librarians are happy to help, it is what we do! Contact your librarian using the information on the left.
Utilize Self-Paced Research & Writing Tutorials (SPOT) and the AskUs Answer Service for research & writing support after hours.

Core Databases

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO]
A database of nursing and health journals. Provides full-text access for more than 1,300 journals, and indexes more than 5,000 additional journals.
Tip: Use the CINAHL heading search to find the best terms to locate sources.
MEDLINE [EBSCO]
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database includes citations from over 5,200 scholarly journals from around the world. These journals are carefully vetted prior to inclusion in the database. Records date back to 1946. Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and related topics.
MEDLINE is also included within the PubMed database. This EBSCO-based version is great for people familiar with EBSCO functionality. It also provides access to saved searches, MeSH trees, and a MeSH search generator.
PubMed [National Center for Biotechnology Information]
A database of more than 26 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-texts are available.
Create an account in PubMed in order to record your search activity, generate search alerts, and customize your search preferences. Search activity is retained for 6 months.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO]
A database covering many medical disciplines, with focus on nursing. Includes full-texts, abstracts, and indexed works.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip: This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

Additional Databases

Social Sciences Databases [ProQuest]
This search includes multiple databases focusing the social sciences, social work, gender studies, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition [EBSCO]
A database of consumer health information. Includes full-text magazines and health reference books.
SPORTDiscus [EBSCO]
A database of citations and abstracts to sports literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, sport and biomechanics, sport psychology, training, coaching, and related topics. Coverage begins in 1800.
Annual Reviews
A database of articles covering significant yearly developments in biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Tip: When full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
ERIC [EBSCO]
The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.

External Resources

Catalogue of Bias
Created by the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine in partnership with the University of Oxford, this resource provides definitions and examples of different forms of bias that impact medical research.
ECRI Guidelines
Evidence-based clinical guidelines vetted by experts and evaluated against the Institute of Medicine Standards for Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines.
EthnoMed
Includes cultural information for clinical practice. Resources are King County based.
Heal WA
Health research resources for licensed nurses in Washington State. Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Joanna Briggs Library, and DynaMed databases.
Medical Subject Headings
Explore MeSH terminology, scope notes, and concept trees. You can also create searches from your results.
MedlinePlus
A service of the National Institute of Health, Medline plus provides online health information for patients and their families. Resources span approximately 60 languages.
Trip Database
Search engine designed to locate evidence to inform patient care.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Effective Health Care Program
The Effective Health Care Program partners with research centers, academic institutions, health professional societies, consumer organizations, and other stakeholders to conduct research, evidence synthesis, evidence translation, dissemination, and implementation of research findings.

Nursing ebooks

Here are just a few of the nursing ebooks you can access through OneSearch. For a more books, follow this link and use the filters on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow the results.

Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by Nola A. Schmidt; Janet M. Brown
Publication Date: 2022
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Chris Bulman ; Sue Schutz
Publication Date: 2013
Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcare by Margaret B. Harrison; Ian D. Graham
Publication Date: 2023
The Research Process in Nursing by Kate Gerrish; Judith Lathlean; Desmond Cormack
Publication Date: 2015
Person-Centred Healthcare Research by Tom Eide; Brendan McCormack ; Sandra van Dulmen; Hilde Eide ; Kirsti Skovdahl
Publication Date: 2017