Pride Month Online Display
Check out our annually updated online display of LGBTQ+ items in the collection highlighted to celebrate Pride! Do you have a book or film to suggest we add to the collection? Reach out and let us know about it and we'll consider purchasing it.
Reference Materials for LGBTQ Studies
Sex, Youth, and Sex Education by ISBN: 1576077764Publication Date: 2002-04-23An authoritative reference that discusses the history of sex education and its ramifications in the United States.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by ISBN: 0415306515Publication Date: 2006-04-12The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culturecovers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject.
Reference books are an excellent way to get started with research, or to begin learning about a subject. Here are some reference works related to LGBTQ issues.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by ISBN: 0313348596Publication Date: 2009-07-01In this two-volume work, hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by ISBN: 0684312611Publication Date: 2003-12-05This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
Gay and Lesbian Issues by ISBN: 1851093729Publication Date: 2003-05-06Explores the contentious history of the international gay rights movement from its inception in Germany in the 1800s to today.
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts by ISBN: 1573441910Publication Date: 2004-05-26120 b/w Illustrations, bibliography and indexes. The editors of glbtq.com present a comprehensive work showcasing the enormous contribution of gay, lesbian, transgender and queer artists to painting, drawing, photography, printmaking, sculpture and architecture.
Databases: LGBTQ Studies
- Anthropology Plus [EBSCO]An index of citations to international publications in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, material culture, folklore and interdisciplinary studies.
LGBTQ studies is an interdisciplinary subject, drawing on topics such as sociology, sexuality, psychology, legislation, and much more. Therefore, searching many different databases will give you a better idea of what is available. Here are some of those databases.
- EBSCO Multi-Database SearchSearch all EBSCO databases at once, or click "choose databases" to customize the databases included in your search.
- GenderWatch [ProQuest]A database covering historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles and their effects on all people.
- Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
- JSTOR [ITHAKA]A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
- PsycINFO [EBSCO]A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip:This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.