Zotero Research Management Software: Save Citations

Collect research resources, organize them, and export citations. Plus other cool stuff.

Please Note

In the left column of this page are video tutorials and in the right column is some text about collecting resources with Zotero (with screenshots)

Video Tutorial: Understanding the Zotero icons and the Zotero saving process

Video Tutorial: Understanding the Zotero Interface

Collecting References: Books and Articles

Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including WWU's OneSearch) and databases, and even some regular web pages, with one click. (Zotero publishes a list of compatible sites, and many sites not on this list also work.) If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or a site like Amazon.com, LibraryThing or the New York Times, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the address bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation.

In the lower-right portion of your browser

 

An example of the Zotero Book icon

Zotero Book icon example

If you're on a page of search results with many items, you'll see a folder icon instead. Click this to get a list of all the items on the page, and check off the ones you want to save.

Zotero folder icon

Attaching Files

It's easy to attach files (like PDFs) to items in your Zotero library.  Just drag the file into your Zotero pane.  Dropping a file onto a collection, or in between library items, will copy it into your library as a standalone item.  Dropping it onto an existing item will attach it to that item.  This is the easiest way to attach a copy of an article to its entry in your library.

Each item also has an Attachments tab in the right column.  You can attach files by clicking the Attachments tab and then the Add button.

attaching files

Organizing Your Library

Click the Zotero button at the bottom of your browser to open your library. At the top left is a folder button with a green plus sign. Click this to create a new "collection."

Create collections to organize your references. Collections are like file folders on your computer, but a reference can be in more than one collection at a time. In other words, a book on the Civil War could be filed in your "Civil War" collection, your "Georgia History" collection and your "19th Century America" collection without having to make three copies of the reference.

Organizing your library