LBRL 110: Confession and Self-Promotion - Autobiography from Augustine to the Blogosphere: Home

This is a guide for Liberal Studies 110.

Research Materials

The following research materials on autobiography are in the WWU Libraries:

Series/Collections

In the library catalog use the advanced keyword search to find topics in collections or series:

Example:  "early english books" and "trials"

Example:  "other voice in early modern europe" and "women"

Example:  "i tatti renaissance library" and "art"

Finding Books

First check to see if what you need is in Western's Online Catalog.  From the OneSearch drop-down menu, under "Books, Articles + More" choose "At WWU Only."

If it is not in the Western Libraries choose "WWU Libraries + Summit" from the drop-down menu. Summit materials you order will come in from Washington, Oregon or Idaho Libraries and will be available for pickup at the Circulation Desk.

If the item you need is not in Western Libraries or available from Summit libraries, you can order materials from outside the region using your ILLiad account, by choosing "Libraries Worldwide" from the drop-down menu.

Set up your ILLiad account once and it is your interlibrary loan account for your academic career at Western.

Search Terms and Subjects

Use the following terms to find historical documents. In a subject search these terms -- personal narrative, correspondence, diaries, early works to 1800, interviews, pamphlets, and blogs -- can be added to a person's name or a subject:

Subject Search: Jesus, Ursula de, 1604-1666 -- Diaries

Subject Search: Insurgency -- Iraq -- Blogs

Useful keywords include memoirs, letters, travel diaries, journals, autobiography, papers, portraits, autoethnography, and social networking.

Keyword Search: Heloise and letters

Digital storytelling and speeches can be searched as subjects or used in specifc keyword searches.

Keyword Search: Lincoln and speeches

Databases

  • Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]
    A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
  • JSTOR [ITHAKA]
    A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
  • Oxford Art Online [Oxford University Press]
    A multi-source search tool that includes the full-texts of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
  • Oxford English Dictionary [Oxford University Press]
    A historical dictionary describing the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 600,000 words currently and formerly used in the English language.
  • Librarian Subject Team

    Arts & Humanities Team's picture
    Arts & Humanities Team
    Contact:

    Email | Web Form
    Humanities Team Librarians:
    Jeff Purdue
    Michael Taylor
    Caitlan Maxwell


    Team Website:

    Website

    Google Scholar

    Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles and books. You can see what item are in Western Libraries be setting Scholar Preference Library Links to Western Washington University.

    Google Scholar Search