Citation Guides, Writing & Tech Help
- APA 7th Edition Citation for Business Sources Alphabetized list of citations for business resources in APA style (7th edition).
General Business & Economics Research
- Business Source Complete [EBSCO]A database covering business and economics. Materials available include trade journal articles, scholarly articles, company reports/SWOT analysis, industry reports, country reports, and more.
Business research can be frustrating. Sometimes you will need to use three sources to answer one question. The sources below are a starting point for business research. This guide is similar to the Business Research Guide. Use these guides as a place to start when doing any sort of business research.
Before you get started, some general research tips:
- Use keywords, not phrases. Databases work best when you use keywords, not whole sentences. This works for Google, but not databases. Look at your topic and pull out the key points and phrases.
- Start broad. If you start with a search that is too focused, you may not find anything. Look at your search keywords and find the most general concepts. The more keywords you add, the more focused your search is. It's the opposite of Google.
- Try alternate words and concepts. You would be amazed at how changing one word will change your entire search.
- Use the databases to help you narrow your search. Most databases provide tools that will help you narrow or focus a general search.
- Emerald InsightA database of articles from over 200 management journals. Covers major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, marketing, and human resource management.
- ProQuest NewspapersA selection of full text newspapers both national and local, including the Wall Street Journal.
- IBISWorldA database of industry market reports for more than 700 U.S. industries, organized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Reports cover several categories: key statistics, market segmentation, market characterization, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.
- Mergent OnlineMergent provides financial information on publicly traded US and international companies. Contains current and historical financial going back fifteen years. Includes SEC filings including 10Ks, proxies, insider trading information, and more. Mergent does not contain information on private or defunct companies. Limited to three concurrent users; if you are denied access, try again in a few minutes. Please log out when done.
- Corporate AffiliationsCorporate Affiliations (CA) is a directory of public and private information. Includes basic company information (contact info, location, SIC/NAICS), a financial snapshot, executives, and a corporate tree (parents company, subsidiaries, etc.) CA does not have analysis or a narrative, but it is a great place to find information on privately-held companies.
- Value Line Investment SurveyLocation: Haggard 2, Ask for it at Reference Desk
Value Line is a geared towards investors, but knowing the financial performance of a company and its competitors is another way to sum up a company and industry. Value Line is updated quarterly. Included for each company is an analyst commentary on the future performance expectations of a company's stock. Companies in Value Line are organized by industry and each industry has a one-page summary. - Reference for BusinessThis is a free site featuring several business reference books online: Encyclopedia of Small Business; Encyclopedia of Business; Business Biographies; Business Plan Handbook; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of Management; Company Histories Pt 1 & 2; Leading American Business. All materials are searchable. Because they are free, some of the information is dated.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO indexes and provides abstracts for scholarly, literature in psychology and related disciplines. Use PsycInfo to search for articles on consumer behavior and organizational behavior.
Librarian Subject Team
Social Sciences & Programs Team
Contact:
Website
Email
Social Sciences & Programs Team Librarians:
Sylvia Tag
Elizabeth Stephan
Emily Spracklin
Team Website:
Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Business, Canadian Studies, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Decision Sciences, Economics, Education, FIGs, Finance, Health, Health and Human Development, Human Services, International Business, Linguistics, Management, Management Information Systems, Marketing, Medicine, Nursing, Outreach & Continuing Education, Political Science, Recreation, Rehabilitation Counseling, Sociology, Tax