Teaching, Learning & Research with Heritage Resources: Heritage Resources Consultations
Heritage Resources Consultations
Due to the COVD-19 outbreak, Heritage Resources' physical facilities are closed to the public and to in-person research at this time. Staff are working remotely during regular business hours, and are staying in touch with our campus and community users through email, phone, and online video-conferencing platforms. We are also finding creative ways to use these technologies to maintain reference and other services in support of your research needs. It is our goal to continue providing access to our services and resources even if we are unable to meet in-person and provide physical access to collection materials at this time.
Heritage Resources staff remain available to assist with research inquiries over the phone, through email, and/or online video-conferencing platforms. Select digitized content is available through the MABEL platform, and an instructional video on using the platform is available here: http://libweb1.library.wwu.edu/elearning/MABEL_Tr_St_v5/MABEL_Tr_St_v5_player.html. While some collection material may be provided remotely, we are unfortunately not able to provide physical access to collection materials at this time. Contact Heritage.Resources@wwu.edu or call (360) 650-7534 for more information or to submit inquiries.
Heritage Resources staff offer individual, personalized research support for students, staff and faculty who are interested in using our unique collections in their scholarly and creative pursuits. These consultations are most frequently conducted face-to-face, but can also take place via email or phone. Since this research can often be complex and time-consuming, it is best to make an appointment ahead of time to ensure staff are on-hand to assist and collections are available to access. During busy times of the quarter (like the beginning, or just before mid-terms and/or finals), we recommend emailing or calling at least four to five business days in advance. Requests for research support and appointment requests received past 4:30pm on weekdays, as well as any time on the weekends, will be responded to on the next business day.
Contact Heritage.Resources@wwu.edu for more information or to schedule a consultation. Typically, Heritage Resources staff will ask you about:
- Your research topic
- Day(s)/time(s) that might work for you
- As far as possible, which specific collections and/or collection contents you want to access (so that staff know what records/items to retrieve)
- How many will be in your group (e.g. if you are visiting with another classmate and/or project partner)
If you're having a hard time deciding what to research and/or you're not sure if there will be unique and primary sources that relate to it, check out these "subject guides" covering topics that are well-documented in Heritage Resources' collections.