This is the "Home" page of the "Research Using Oral Histories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Using Oral Histories  

Resources available through Western Libraries and its Heritage Resources programs.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/heritageresources_oralhistories Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

A guide to finding oral histories through Western Libraries, focusing on resources available through the Heritage Resources programs or online.

 

What is Oral History?

Oral History.

Definition   n. ~ 1. An interview that records an individual's personal recollections of the past and historical events. – 2. The audio or video recordings, transcripts, and other materials that capture and are associated with such an interview.

Citations   †156 (Klopfer 2001, p. 112): Documents described as oral histories range from personal reminiscences to structured interviews to recordings of contemporary thoughts or events saved for posterity. The arrangement of oral histories also range from raw tapes to edited tapes, translations, transcripts, re-wordings, syntheses and interpretations.

[Definition from Richard Peace-Moses, A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology. Society of American Archivists, 2005 (accessed 2011 April 25)].


 

Where Can I Access Oral Histories?

Western Libraries Reference staff can assist you in accessing published works about or containing oral histories. Useful terms for searching the libraries catalog include: "Oral history" and "oral tradition."

We also encourage you to access oral history transcripts and recordings available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs (see "Oral history collections at Western").

 

Resources from the Western Libraries Catalog



Oral History Forum d'histoire orale
Full-text articles (WWU Log-in required). Oral History Forum d'histoire orale is the journal of the Canadian Oral History Association.

Oral history review
Full-text articles (WWU log-in required). The official publication of the Oral History Association, containing "articles, book and film reviews, and bibliographies deal with the verification of human experience and research findings in oral history." [sic].


Washington State Oral/Aural History Program - Rune, Anne.
Transcripts from oral histories conducted in the 1970s, including interviews documenting lives and experiences of African Americans and Filipinos in Washington State. Available on microfilm at CPNWS or through Western's main library.


 

More Campus Connections

WWU's Fairhaven College and Woodring College of Education offer credit courses about oral history and oral traditions in storytelling. Check out the WWU Course Catalog for more information.  

Heritage Resources

Profile Image
Heritage Resources
Contact Info
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193

University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-774
Send Email
 

Heritage Resources

OUR MISSION

The Heritage Resources unit provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.

       

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip