Oral History

Online resources include "Workshops On the Web" about conducting and teaching about use of oral histories.

Guidelines for oral history projects and transcribing/editing oral histories.

Access to supporting resources for oral historians and educators, and links to select oral history centers and collections.

a network for scholars and professionals active in studies related to oral history. It is affiliated with the Oral History Association.

An independent nonprofit whose mission is "to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives".

Located at Louisiana State University. Website includes guidelines for conducting oral histories or incorporating oral histories into a curriculum, sample interview questions and consent forms.

"Suggestions on how to arrange interviews, structure meaningful questions, set up equipment and organize information".

Guide prepared and maintained by Andy Kolovos.

"Over 480 visual histories (more than 900 hours of recorded video interviews) and and over 10,800 historic photos, documents, and newspapers..... These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration. " Registration/log-in required.

Internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, archives, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history. Website provides access to significant oral history projects (full transcripts online) as well as digital collections.

Access to full-text transcripts for select interviews. The Southern Oral History Program, founded in 1973, has conducted over 4,000 interviews throughout North Carolina and the American South on a variety topics, including civil rights, women's issues, politics, and environmental transformations. The tapes and available transcripts of the SOHP interviews reside in the Southern Historical Collection in the Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

"One of the largest and most diverse resources for Holocaust testimonies in the world."

Microfiche transcripts from oral history project conducted by the Washington State Archives in the 1970s.

Washington State University Libraries Manuscript Archives and Special Collections. Audio available online. "Interviews conducted by Quintard Taylor and his associates, Charles Ramsay and John Dawkins. They interviewed African American pioneers and their descendants throughout Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana, from 1972-1974."