Poetry for Children & Teens: Home

To provide and preserve a comprehensive collection of poetry written and published for children and teens, birth through age 20, from 1960 on.

Welcome!

The Children & Teen Poetry Collection includes materials written and published for children and teens, birth through age 20, from 1960 on. The primary  scope of this collection is poetry published in the United States.

For addtional Information contact:

Sylvia Tag
Librarian/Associate Prof.
The Western Libraries
Phone: 360.650.7992
Email: sylvia.tag@wwu.edu

Nancy Johnson
Professor
English Department
Phone: 360.650.3227
Email: nancy.johnson@wwu.edu

                      

Poet to Poet

For National Poetry Month 2014, The Academy of American Poets (www.poets.org) has created a new project titled Poet-to-Poet. This is a multimedia educational project that invites young people in grades 3-12 to write poems in response to those shared by some of the award-winning poets who serve on the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors.

Poet to Poet
http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/639

Poet to Poet Lesson Plans
http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/87

Additional Children's and YA Collections in the Western Libraries

    

The Children' Literature Interdisciplinary Collection

                                                             

Special Collections
Children's Literature

Poetry App from the Poetry Foundation

The Poetry App http://www.poetryfoundation.org/mobile may not be specifically geared toward kids, but I think it has a lot to offer younger users. First and foremost, the app presents over one hundred classic poems from sixteen of the world’s greatest poets — including W. H. Auden, Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, Elizabeth Bishop, William Butler Yeats, and Sylvia Plath. Additionally, each poem available to read is paired with an audio recitation performed by one of thirty critically acclaimed actors and performers.

The lineup of contributors is a veritable who’s who of British thespian elite, which includes — and let me preface this list by saying that each is known for a host of memorable roles; I’ve simply boiled them down to their most kid/teen-relevant, pop-culture characters — Ralph Fiennes (Lord Voldemort), Helen McCrory (Narcissa Malfoy), and Robert Hardy (Cornelius Fudge) from the Harry Potter franchise; Ian McDiarmid (The Emperor/Senator Palpatine) from the Star Wars movies; Roger Moore (James Bond); Dan Stevens (aka Matthew Crawley) and Elizabeth McGovern (Cora Crawley) from Downton Abbey; Charles Dance (Tywin Lannister) and Julian Glover (Grand Maester Pycelle) from Game of Thrones; and Jeremy Irons (aka Brom from Eragon, Macon Ravenwood from Beautiful Creatures, and Scar from The Lion King).

The main menu is straightforward and simple to navigate, featuring a cozy living room setting warmed by a crackling fire and six section icons to click through. Unfortunately, once you’re actually exploring the poems organized by poet or actor, the interface becomes over-conceptualized. Animated hot air balloons float across pictures or portraits of actors and poets, all pasted in front of the scrolling background of a starry night sky. It’s too busy to be effective. Good thing the recitations are so impressive and beautifully done. This is one of those apps with incredible content — if you can get past its appearance.

Introductions and essays by the late author Josephine Hart accompany various poems, providing context and some explication. There is also a composition tool, so users can compose their own poetry if inspiration strikes. Easter eggs are hidden throughout the app, some featuring video clips of actors reciting poems. Click around to find them all.

Available for iPad(requires iOS 5.0 or later) and Android devices (requires Android 2.3.3 and up); free.

(Reviewed in The Horn Book Magazine,April 10, 2014 by Shara Hardeson

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/mobile/

Just for Fun!

 

The Voice
 by Shel Silverstein

There is a voice inside of you
That whispers all day long,
"I feel that this is right for me,
I know that this is wrong."
No teacher, preacher, parent, friend
Or wise man can decide
What’s right for you – just listen to
The voice that speaks inside.