Transportation: The History of Railroads, Vessels and Other Transportation Methods: Home

A guide to resources about the history of trains, railroads, ships, boats, aviation and transit systems, focusing on collections available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.

Introduction

This is an introductory guide to unique collections about railroads, boats, ships, planes and transportation-related issues, as available through Western Libraries Heritage Resources programs. If you have any questions and/or need assistance finding information, please contact Heritage Resources staff and/or the Western Libraries Reference Desk.

Click on the tabs above for suggested resources about:

  • Trains and Railroad History
  • Ships, Boats and Waterbourne Transit
  • Aviation
  • Roads and Highways

 

L. Guy Mecklem's 1907 dirigible flight at Seattle's Luna Park

Image of L. Guy Mecklem's 1907 dirigible flight at Seattle's Luna Park. From the L. Guy Mecklem Collection, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies.

Western Libraries Catalog

Western Libraries online catalog contains information about a wide variety of published and archival sources. If you have any questions and/or need assistance finding information, please contact Heritage Resources staff and/or the Western Libraries Reference Desk.

Collections of General Interest (Center for Pacific Northwest Studies)

Other Useful Links

Heritage Resources

Heritage Resources's picture
Heritage Resources
Contact:
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193



University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124



Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
Website

Heritage Resources

OUR MISSION

Western Libraries Heritage Resources provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and resarch at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Special Collections, and University Archives and Records Management work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.