Library Guides: Transportation: Railroads, Ships and More: Ships, Boats and Waterbourne Transit

Other Useful Resources

Guide to the Leonard C. Hosford Scrapbooks 1811-1957
Compilation of historical research and photographs on steamboating in the western and central United States and Canada from 1811 to 1957. Collection comprised of thirty five volumes assembled by steamboat captain Leonard C. Hosford.
Guide to the Robert B. Ross Collection of Maritime Photographs and Other Material circa 1895-1961
Bellingham Maritime History
Video. Bellingham Shipyard during the World War II; economic impact of Bellingham’s maritime history; Pacific American Fisheries, building war ships during World War II, and is considered a leader in the introduction of fiberglass into ship building.

Collections at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies

Alaska Packers Association Records

Construction of "Redwood" and "Firwood" at the Pacific American Fisheries shipyard at Commercial Point in South Bellingham. The Redwood was launced in January 1917 and the Firwood in April 1917. Image from the Galen Biery Papers and Photographs #2545.0, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies.

Useful collections re: ships, vessels and maritime history may include:

Barrett (Eldon) Papers
Biery (Galen) Papers
Includes film footage and photos of ships launched from the Bellingham Shipyards and the "Mosquito Fleet" of Steamships
Bullitt (Dorothy) Collection on 18th Century Explorers
Lithographs, and narrative accounts documenting explorations by British Naval officers including Captains James Cook and George Vancouver in the late eighteenth century. These documents reflect early European perspectives and depictions of Native and First Nations people and culture, including in the Pacific Northwest region.
Buswell (Howard E.)
Series VII: Whatcom Historical Materials: Ships, shipwrecks, steamships
Series VIII: Pacific Northwest Historical Materials, 1946-1959
Ships, shipping, steamboats, river boats
CPNWS Miscelleaneous Scrapbook Collection
Includes photo albums documenting Pacific American Fisheries operations and WWI and WWII era boats and shipbuilding in Bellingham.
CPNWS Photographic Database
Funk (Wallie V.) Papers
Includes images documenting Whidbey Island Naval Air Station.
Collection of publications on Washington State 1899-1985; 1960-1980
This collection contains reference materials including articles, brochures and publications covering various topics through Washington State, with a strong focus on Bellingham and Whatcom County history. The collection is arranged by subject.
Lewis & Dryden's marine history of the Pacific Northwest: an illustrated review of the growth and development of the maritime industry, from the advent of the earliest navigators to the present time
Pacific American Fisheries Records
Business records of one of the largest salmon fishing and packing operations, formerly headquartered in Bellingham, Washington.
Pacific Northwest Historical Materials, Series VIII: 1946-1959
This collection contains reference materials including articles, brochures and publications covering various topics through Washington State, with a strong focus on Bellingham and Whatcom County history.
Puget Sound shipping and building, 1900-1970 lecture

Published Resources

H. W. McCurdy marine history of the Pacific Northwest : an illustrated review of the growth and development of the maritime industry from 1895, by Newell, Gordon R. (editor)
Publication Date: 1966
Isla de Eliza by Van Miert, E. Rosamonde Ellis.
History of Eliza Island, home for many years to ship-building operations of the Pacific American Fisheries.
Lewis & Dryden's marine history of the Pacific Northwest by Wright, E.W.
Publication Date: 1895
an illustrated review of the growth and development of the maritime industry, from the advent of the earliest navigators to the present time, with sketches and portraits of a number of well known marine men
Merchant vessels of the United States by United States Department of Transportation, United States Coast Guard.
Pacific American Fisheries, Inc.: a history of a Washington State salmon packing company, 1890-1966 by Radke, August Carl, 1922-
Pacific Lumber Ships by Newell, Gordon R., and Joe Williamson
Ships of the inland sea: the story of the Puget Sound steamboats