Library Guides: Art History 275: Intro to Writing & Critical Thinking: Home

Biographical Information: Historical and Contemporary

Contemporary Artists
Call Number: N6490 .C6567 2002
This is a two volume set.
Contemporary Artists
Call Number: N6490 .C6567 1996
Contemporary Women Artists
Call Number: N8354 .C66 1999
The Dictionary of Art
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996 v1. 34
Dictionary of Women Artists by Delia Gaze (Editor)
Call Number: N8354 .D53 1997 v.1 & 2
ISBN: 9781884964213
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007 v.1 & 2
ISBN: 9780195300826
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
Call Number: N6260 .G75 2009 v.1 - 3
ISBN: 9780195309911
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
Call Number: N6370 .G76 2009 v.1 -3
ISBN: 9780195334661
Guide to the Literature of Art History
Call Number: N380 .A7 and Supplement
St. James Guide to Black Artists
Call Number: N40 .S78 1997
ISBN: 9781558622203

Use Google for artist's webpages and artist's statements. Search newspapers for current information and exhibitions.

Global Newsstream [ProQuest]
A database providing access to newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

Art Full Text [EBSCO]
A database of full-text articles and citations to publications covering all types of art, including commercial art, photography, film, and architecture.
BHA and RILA [Getty Research Institute]
An index of citations to European and American visual art-history texts and articles published between 1975 and 2007. A fusion of the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA).
Artstor
A repository of artwork and images from around the world. Includes images relating to architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.