Resources for Art History: Home

Databases and other resources

The resources listed below will help you find articles, images, and reference information for research in Art History.  Suggestions for additions or other changes are very welcome -- just contact us at the links on the side.  

A database of full-text articles and citations to publications covering all types of art, including commercial art, photography, film, and architecture.

A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.

A multi-source search tool that includes the full-texts of Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

A repository of artwork and images from around the world. Includes images relating to architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

An index of citations to European and American visual art-history texts and articles published between 1975 and 2007. A fusion of the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA).

A bibliography of journals covering all types of art, plus museum studies, archaeology, and architectural history.

Finding Books

OneSearch is Western Libraries' tool for finding books (as well as articles, videos, etc.).  During the closures necessitated by Washington State's stay-at-home order, physical items may not be requested, whether they are from Western or a partner library via Summit (please see the Libraries' FAQ regarding COVID-19).  However, eBooks are available.  You can limit your search to eBooks by selecting that option under Format on the left side of your screen after you have entered your search terms.

Librarian Subject Team

Arts & Humanities Team's picture
Arts & Humanities Team
Contact:

Email | Web Form
Humanities Team Librarians:
Jeff Purdue
Michael Taylor
Caitlan Maxwell


Team Website:

Website