'This dictionary offers a unique contribution to the field. It covers a broad range of concepts and theories, enabling students to easily access definitions of key terms as well as introducing them to a range of contemporary ideas about Leisure. In doing so, it provides a valuable reference point for students, and can be used to signpost further relevant reading' - Dr Fiona Jordan, School of the Built and Natural Environment, University of the West of England, Bristol What is Leisure Studies? Who are the key figures in the field? How can we evaluate the relevance of concepts in the field? This is the first full length dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures, and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions. Key Features Provides an unprecedented critical survey of the field Offers students authoritative, comprehensive accounts of the basic concepts and leading figures Provides students with core resources to write essays and pass exams Written by teachers experienced with the needs of undergraduate and graduate students in the field, the book will be quickly recognized as a vital asset in making sense of Leisure Studies.
Explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreation activities of children as well as adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman empire to video games today. As an academic social history, it includes the perspectives of several curricular disciplines, from sociology to child psychology, from lifestyle history to social epidemiology.
A database of citations and abstracts to sports literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, sport and biomechanics, sport psychology, training, coaching, and related topics. Coverage begins in 1800.
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present. Tip:
This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
Case studies, program evaluations, research and theory for activities directors and coordinators in nursing homes and community centers, as well as other professionals concerned with the enhancement of the lifestyles of the aged
Research, theory, and critical thought in all areas that address leisure, including play, recreation, the arts and culture, sport, festivals and celebrations, health and fitness, and travel and tourism